Golf (M)

Harvey earns second team All-SAC Men's Golf honors

ROCK HILL, SC Ė Catawba College junior Steven Harvey (Salisbury, NC) was named to the second team All-South Atlantic Conference Menís Golf team announced Monday night's at the SAC Men's Golf Awards Banquet at the Regent Park Golf Club in Fort Mill, SC. Carson-Newman College's Matthrew Cram-Smith, who helped lead the Eagles to a No. 10 national ranking, was named the South Atlantic Conference Men's Golf Player of the Year for the second year in a row Cram-Smith averaged 74.5 strokes per round. He shot a second-day 68 to win the Richard Rendleman Invitational, and finished second at the AFLAC Cougar Invitational. Cram-Smith also received the Hargett Award, presented by the South Atlantic Conference men's golf coaches to one player who exemplifies such character traits as hard work and a love of the game. The SAC Men's Golf Freshman of the Year is Patrick Townes of Presbyterian College. Townes has a stroke average of 77.27, third best on his team. His best finish was fourth place at the Outback Intercollegiate and his best round was a 71 at the North Shore Pfeiffer Intercollegiate. Carson-Newman College coach John Minor was recognized as Men's Golf Coach of the Year after leading the Eagles to four top-two finishes and seven top-5 finishes in 10 events. He has guided his team to a number 10 national ranking. Presbyterian College's Thomas Cameron was presented the South Atlantic Conference Scholar Athlete Award for the second year in a row. He has a 3.69 GPA as a senior Business Administration and Math major. On the course, Cameron averaged 77.73 strokes per round, with a season low score of 72 in the North Shore Pfeiffer Intercollegiate. 2004 SOUTH ATLANTIC CONFERENCE MEN'S GOLF AWARD WINNERS FIRST TEAM Matthew Cram-Smith, Carson-Newman Josh Coley, Carson-Newman Tanner Davis, Carson-Newman Patrick Mitchell, Presbyterian Sasha Catron, Tusculum SECOND TEAM STEVEN HARVEY, CATAWBA Brian Ko, Lenoir-Rhyne Jimi Brindell, Presbyterian Gavin Gillespie, Presbyterian Brent Dyson, Tusculum COACH OF THE YEAR - John Minor, Carson-Newman FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Patrick Townes, Presbyterian PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Matthew Cram-Smith, Carson-Newman SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Thomas Cameron, Presbyterian #####

Today's Events

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 2 (Mimosa Hills CC),
Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 2 (Achasta GC),
Tennis (W) vs. Newberry, 1:30
Tennis (M) vs. Newberry, 1:30


«October 2017»
October 1

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3) 

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3) 

October 2

Golf (W) @ Myrtle Beach Inv - Day 1 (Ocean Ridge Plantation)

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4) 

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4) 

October 3

Golf (W) @ Myrtle Beach Inv - Day 2 (Ocean Ridge Plantation) 14th of 17

Volleyball @ Coker 1-3

October 4

Soccer (W) vs. QUEENS 0-1

Soccer (M) vs. QUEENS 1-1

October 5

Tennis (M) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 1-8

Tennis (W) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 7-2

October 6

Swimming @ Converse Women's Invite (Day 1) 

October 7

Swimming @ Converse Women's Invite (Day 2) 1st of 7

Cross Country @ Hagan Stone Classic W-1st;M-3rd

Football vs. NORTH GREENVILLE 26-20

Volleyball vs. NEWBERRY 2-3

Soccer (W) vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 0-3

Soccer (M) vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 0-3

October 9

Golf (W) in PATSY RENDLEMAN INV - Day 1 (CC of Salisbury)

Golf (M) @ NCAA II Preview - Day 1 (Rock Barn GC)

October 10

Golf (M) @ NCAA II Preview - Day 2 (Rock Barn GC) 9th of 17

Golf (W) in PATSY RENDLEMAN INV - Day 2 (CC of Salisbury) 10th of 17

October 11

Soccer (W) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 3-1

Soccer (M) vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 3-4

October 14

Football vs. WINGATE 24-27

Volleyball @ Anderson 0-3

Soccer (M) @ Anderson 1-2

Soccer (W) @ Anderson 1-2

October 16

Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 1 (Achasta GC) 

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 1 (Mimosa Hills CC) 

October 17

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 2 (Mimosa Hills CC) 

Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 2 (Achasta GC) 

Tennis (M) vs. Newberry 1:30 p.m.

Tennis (W) vs. Newberry 1:30 p.m.

October 18

Soccer (W) @ Wingate 5 p.m.

Soccer (M) @ Wingate 7:30 p.m.

October 19

Tennis (W) @ Lenoir-Rhyne 2 p.m.

October 20

Swimming vs. UNC WILMINGTON 2 p.m.

Volleyball vs. MARS HILL 6 p.m.

October 21

Swimming @ Wingate

Cross Country @ SAC Championships

Volleyball @ Tusculum 12:30 p.m.

Football @ Tusculum 2:30 p.m.

Soccer (M) vs. TUSCULUM 5 p.m.

Soccer (W) vs. TUSCULUM 7:30 p.m.

October 24

Soccer (W) vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 7 p.m.

Volleyball vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 7 p.m.

October 25

Soccer (M) vs. USC AIKEN 7 p.m.

October 27

Swimming Men @ Gardner-Webb 5 p.m.

Volleyball vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL 7 p.m.

October 28

Soccer (W) @ Lincoln Memorial 1 p.m.

Football @ Limestone 1 p.m.

Volleyball vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 2 p.m.

Soccer (M) @ Lincoln Memorial 3:30 p.m.

October 31

Soccer (W) in SAC Tournament (1st Round)

Soccer (M) @ SAC Tournament (1st Round)

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (M) Team Photo