Cross Country

Willis, Godsey earn All-SAC Cross Country honors at SAC Meet

   MORRISTOWN, TN – Mars Hill College swept top honors in both men’s and women's cross country at the 2004 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Cross Country Championships held Saturday morning at Panther Creek State Park.  The win by the Mars Hill men's team was their seventh consecutive conference championship. The Lady Lions won the SAC title for the sixth time in seven seasons. Craig Eckstein was named the men's Runner of the Year as he finished the 8K race in a time of 27:02.23. On the women's side, Sarah Utz of Wingate was the Runner of the Year as she had the best finish in a time of 19:21.25.
    Rori Godsey (Washington, DC) led the Lady Indians with a tenth place finish and earned second team All-SAC honors.  She posted a time of 21:02.  For the men, Ryan Willis (Jonesboro, GA) was runner-up in the men’s race in a time of 27:07 to earn first team All-SAC honors.

Members of the women’s All-SAC first team included Utz, Natalie Creech of Wingate, Marguax Cowan-Banker of Carson-Newman, Rachel Retallick and Kate Prichard of Mars Hill, Amanda Musick of Tusculum and Tabatha Lee of Mars Hill.  Second team All-SAC members included Erin McKee of Mars Hill, Wingate's Lindsay Boldt, Godsey, Jamie Dyke of Tusculum, Vanessa Gibson of Carson-Newman, Ahsley McCauley of Mars Hill and Lenoir-Rhyne's Whitney Heavner.
The first team All-SAC team for the men included Eckstein, Willis, Daniel Amick, Jon Stoeher, Elliott Austin, James Thompson, Dustin Whitlow and Adam Stewart, all of Mars Hill. The All-SAC second team was comprised of Adam Stewart, Perrell Bess and Nolan Winters of Lenoir-Rhyne, Corey Simons of Mars Hill, Eric Malkowski of Carson-Newman
and Nick Stump and Brad Topper of Wingate.  
Dustin Whitlow of Mars Hill was named the SAC Freshman of the Year.  Other members of the SAC All-Freshman team included Josh Wagner, Tyler Wilkerson and William Mikolajczak of Mars Hill and Wingate's Nick Stump.  Tusculum's Jamie Dyke was named SAC Freshman of the Year for 2004.  Joining Dyke on the All-Freshman team were Vanessa Gibson of Carson-Newman, Brittany Gendron and Miley White of Mars Hill and Laura Berry of Wingate.  

1. Mars Hill 19, 2. Lenoir-Rhyne 58, 3. Wingate 85, 4. CATAWBA 120, 5. Carson-Newman 131, 6. Presbyterian 155, 7. Tusculum 210, 8. Newberry 246.
Catawba Individuals
2. Ryan Willis, 27:07
28. Erik Peterson, 29:46
29. Donald McKenzie, 29:49
32. Brad Heron, 30:00
48. Trey McNamee, 32:17
52. Nate Dozier, 33:21

1. Mars Hill 32, 2. Wingate 47, 3. Carson-Newman 84, 4. Tusculum 94, 5. Presbyterian 133, 6. CATAWBA 166, 7. Lenoir-Rhyne 169, 8. Newberry 237.

Catawba Individuals
10. Rori Godsey, 21:02
38. Erin Phillips, 23:33
45. Toni Jorgensen, 24:21
49. Shannon Dente, 24:43
56. Carol Marquis, 26:16
67. Jessie Tarlton, 28:45


Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«June 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Cross Country Team Photo