Soccer (W)

Five named All-SAC in Women's Soccer, Harrington named co-Freshman of the Year

ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba placed five players on the 2004 South Atlantic Conference Women’s Soccer Teams, announced on Monday. Midfielder Jennifer Lowe (Enfield, CT) and forward McKenzie Burman (Rolesville, NC) were first team selections, while forward Paige Harrington (Asheboro, NC), defender Lindsay Layman (Hagerstown, MD) and goalkeeper Cathrine Balentine (Charlotte, NC) were second team picks. Harrington, a forward, was named co-Freshman of the Year. Lowe holds the Catawba record with 36 career assists and her 13 this season is just one shy of the record of 14 she set last season. The senior has added three goals. Burman, a sophomore, leads the team with 16 goals this season, which stands one less than the school mark of 17 set in 1998 by Catey Conner. She has added seven assists for a team-leading 39 points. Harrington has tallied 14 times in her freshman campaign, second best on the squad, and has chipped in with five assists. Layman, a junior, has helped the team to a 0.46 goals against average and 11 shutouts. Balentine, also a junior, has played in 15 matches and recorded six shutouts. She has posted a 0.33 goals against average with 39 saves. 2004 SOUTH ATLANTIC CONFERENCE WOMEN’S SOCCER ALL-CONFERENCE TEAMS AND AWARD RECIPIENTS FIRST TEAM F- Rebecca Angus, Carson-Newmman F – Jennifer Bock, Carson-Newman F – Inga Woiwode, Newberry F – Claire Joyce, Presbyterian MF – Claire Ramsdale, Carson-Newman MF – JENNIFER LOWE, CATAWBA MF – Adriana Farfan, Newberry MF - Megan Smith, Presbyterian D – Julie Nelson, Carson-Newman D - Lindsay Leffler, Presbyterian D – Claudia Turner, Tusculum GK – Danielle Beckerle, Newberry AL – McKENZIE BURMAN, CATAWBA SECOND TEAM F – PAIGE HARRINGTON, CATAWBA F - Julie Dodds, Lenoir-Rhyne F – Becky Carreiro, Tusculum F – Vy Le, Wingate MF – Erica Stegner, Carson-Newman MF – Riana Lange, Lenoir-Rhyne MF – Denise Fliesser, Tusculum MF - Elaine Knudsen, Tusculum D - Stacey Thomas, Carson-Newman D – LINDSAY LAYMAN, CATAWBA D – Sarah Barnes, Newberry GK – CATHRINE BALENTINE, CATAWBA AL – Tara Carver, Mars Hill COACH OF THE YEAR: Juan Pablo Favero, Newberry Co-FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: PAIGE HARRINGTON, CATAWBA; Inga Woiwode, Newberry PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Rebecca Angus, Carson-Newman SAC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE: Denise Fliesser, Tusculum FAIR PLAY AWARD: Mars Hill #####

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«August 2018»
August 24

Volleyball vs. UNC Pembroke 11 a.m.

Volleyball @ Francis Marion 3 p.m.

August 25

Volleyball vs. Converse 11 a.m.

Volleyball vs. Emmanuel 5 p.m.

August 30

Soccer (W) vs. SAINT ANSELM 5 p.m.

Soccer (M) vs. BARTON 7:30 p.m.

August 31

Volleyball vs. West Texas A&M 11 a.m.

Volleyball @ Tampa 7 p.m.

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Volleyball Team Photo