Catawba Chiefs Club Announces New Leaders

The leadership team of The Catawba Chiefs Club is in place for the 2005-2006 year. It includes President Melanie Bowles of Salisbury and Vice President Dave VanAken ’89 of Charlotte. W. Summersett “Summie” Carter of Salisbury is the immediate past president for the Chiefs Club. New board members include Charlie Graeber ’90, Stuart Smith ’77 and Bill Peeler ’54, all of Salisbury. Others who serve on the Chiefs Club Board and their respective classes include in the Class of 2006: Floyd Burton, Keith Chalmers ’86, Sam Moir, David Patterson ’72, Bill Vanderford ’57, Bowles and Graeber, all of Salisbury, Van Aken, of Charlotte, and Frank Fields ’51 of Mooresville; in the Class of 2007: Joyce Caddell, Dr. James “Chip” Comadoll, Charlie Little ’64, John Munday ’78, John Rink ’49, Robert S. Setzer ’73, Eric Slipp, and Smith, all of the Salisbury area, along with John H. Lewis ’59 of Mooresville; and in the Class of 2008: Dr. Rudy Busby, Bill Hall ’66, Tippie Miller, Richard H. Smith, Jr.’86, Steve Yang, Joseph M. Trainor ’85, Peeler, and Carter, all of the Salisbury area, and Darrel Parks of Trinity. Chiefs Club Coordinator Bill Pieczynski notes that there continues to be “strong interest” in joining the Club, with membership running at a record pace and several weeks remaining in this year’s membership drive. Some premium seats in Catawba’s Shuford Stadium remain available, with over 740 reserved seats already allocated. Reserved and premium seats are available only to Chiefs Club members. Those interested in joining, should contact the Catawba College Development Office at 704-637-4394 or visit

Today's Events

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 2), Video


«December 2018»
December 1

Basketball (W) vs. TUSCULUM 64-51

Basketball (M) vs. TUSCULUM 83-79

December 2

Track/Field @ JDL Early Bird Duels

December 4

Basketball (M) @ Elizabeth City St. 68-51

December 5

Basketball (W) vs. LIVINGSTONE 83-57

December 15

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 1) 

Basketball (W) vs. MARS HILL 94-56

Basketball (M) vs. MARS HILL 96-86

December 16

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 2) 

December 17

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 3)

December 18

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 4)

December 19

Basketball (W) @ Wingate 2 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ Wingate 4 p.m.

December 31

Basketball (W) vs. BELMONT ABBEY 2 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ St. Augustine's 2 p.m.

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.