Cross Country

Godsey and Cole Earn All-SAC Cross Country Honors at SAC Championships


BLACK MOUNTAIN, NC -- The Catawba College women were fifth , while the men finished sixth at the 2006 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Cross Country Championships held Saturday morning at Black Mountain Recreation Park.

Mars Hill won the title in both the men’s and women’s events. Wingate’s Amber Hines won the women’s race to earn Runner of the Year honors with a time of 19:39.0, 10 seconds ahead of Carson-Newman’s Aubrey Morris. Lenoir-Rhyne’s Genna Eisenmann was third, followed by Mars Hill’s Kate Prichard and Keely Hollahan. Lincoln Memorial’s Cherie Kern and Carson-Newman’s VanEssa Gibson rounded out the All-Conference first team.

Maleah ColeEarning All-Conference second team honors were: Ashley McCauley, Mars Hill; Rori Godsey, Catawba; Emily Burke, Lincoln Memorial; Ashley Hubbard, Wingate; Alex Frary, Tusculum; Maleah Cole, Catawba; and Helena Sokolova, Lincoln Memorial. Frary was the top freshman finisher, beating Cole by just one second, and was named Freshman of the Year.

Also named to the All-Freshman team were: Cole, Mary Kathryn Preble, Lenoir-Rhyne; Jennifer Ely, Lincoln Memorial and Taylor Hansen, Newberry.

Carson-Newman head coach Whitney Lee was named Women’s Coach of the Year, winning the award for the second year in a row. Mars Hill picked up 53 points to claim the women’s title, ahead of Lincoln Memorial with 67 points. Wingate University was third with 94 points, with Carson-Newman finishing fourth with 110 points.

Mars Hill senior Jon Stoehr put on a dominating performance in winning the men’s race with a time of 26.33.79, finishing with a margin of nearly 17 seconds to earn Runner of the Year honors. Stoehr was followed by Wingate University’s Jayce Watson, teammate Dave Jaeger and Lenoir-Rhyne’s Brad Popple, who was the top freshman finisher and named SAC Freshman of the Year. Ted Johnson of Lincoln Memorial University was fifth, followed by Jon Sharp of Lenoir-Rhyne and Tusculum’s Winton Curry round out the top seven, earning first-team All-Conference honors.

Mars Hill finished the race with 38 points, while Lenoir-Rhyne was second with 59. Lincoln Memorial finished with 74 points, edging out Wingate with 76 points.

Earning men’s All-Conference second team honors were: Matthew Elliott, Presbyterian; Jeremy Donahue, Lincoln Memorial; Tyler Wilkinson, Mars Hill; William Mikolajczak, Mars Hill; Mark Paulson, Lincoln Memorial; Elliott Austin, Mars Hill; and Tyler Mooney, Lenoir-Rhyne.

Joining Popple on the All-Freshman team were Curry, Mooney, Jack Masters, Wingate; and Jefferson Waugh, Lenoir-Rhyne. Mars Hill head coach Mike Owens was named Men’s Coach of the Year, winning the award for the 11th year in a row.

Rori GodseyWomen Team Results 1. Mars Hill 53, 2. Lincoln Memorial 67, 3. Wingate 94, 4. Carson-Newman 110, 5. CATAWBA 133, 6. Lenoir-Rhyne 138, 7. Tusculum 158, 8. Presbyterian 183, 9. Newberry 212. Catawba Finishers 9. Rori Godsey, 20:43 13. Maleah Cole, 20:52 21. Toni Jorgensen, 21:32 46. Casey Keifer, 23:30 50. Caitlin Haney, 24:46 58. Mollie Landers, 26:24 59. Kelly Phillips, 26:36 60: Emily Thronson, 27:00 63. Shannon Axtell, 31:15 All-Conference Teams First Team Amber Hines, Wingate Aubrey Morris, Carson-Newman Genna Eisenmann, Lenoir-Rhyne Kate Prichard, Mars Hill Keely Hollahan, Mars Hill Cherie Kern, Lincoln Memorial VanEssa Gibson, Carson-Newman Second Team Ashley Hubbard, Wingate RORI GODSEY, CATAWBA Emily Burke, Lincoln Memorial Ashley Hubbard, Wingate Alex Frary, Tusculum MALEAH COLE, CATAWBA Helena Sokolova, Lincoln Memorial SAC All-Freshman Team Alex Frary, Tusculum MALEAH COLE, CATAWBA Mary Kathryn Preble, Wingate Jennifer Ely, Lincoln Memorial Taylor Hansen, Newberry SAC Runner of the Year: Amber Hines, Wingate SAC Freshman Runner of the Year: Alex Frary, Tusculum SAC Scholar Athlete: Kate Prichard, Mars Hill SAC Coach of the Year: Whitney Lee, Carson-Newman Men Team Results 1. Mars Hill 38, 2. Lenoir-Rhyne 59, 3. Lincoln Memorial 74, 4. Wingate 76, 5. Presbyterian 137, 6. CATAWBA 182, 7. Tusculum 183, 8. Newberry 230, 9. Carson-Newman 235. Catawba Finishers 24. Ryan Willis, 29:02 30. Chris Haney, 29:41 46. Brent Johnson, 31:05 51. Brad Heron, 31:31 53. Donald McKenzie, 31:39 68. Andrew Jones, 35:46 72. Ross Scallan, 41:56 75. Richard Dunbar, 49:12 All-Conference Teams First Team Jon Stoehr, Mars Hill Jayce Watson, Wingate Dave Jaeger, Mars Hill Brad Popple, Lenoir-Rhyne Ted Johnson, Lincoln Memorial Jon Sharp, Lenor-Rhyne Winston Curry, Tusculum Second Team Matthew Elliott, Presbyterian Jeremy Donahue, Lincoln Memorial Tyler Wilkinson, Mars Hill William Mikolajczak, Mars Hill Mark Paulson, Lincoln Memorial Elliott Austin, Mars Hill Tyler Mooney, Lenoir-Rhyne SAC All-Freshman Team Brad Popple, Lenoir-Rhyne Winston Curry, Tusculum Tyler Mooney, Lenoir-Rhyne Jack Masters, Wingate Jefferson Waugh, Lenoir-Rhyne SAC Runner of the Year: Jon Stoehr, Mars Hill SAC Freshman Runner of the Year: Brad Popple, Wingate SAC Scholar Athlete: Jon Stoehr, Mars Hill SAC Coach of the Year: Mike Owens, Mars Hill #####

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Cross Country Team Photo