Lacrosse (M)

Lacrosse Claims Share of DSC Crown With 17-9 Win Over Presbyterian


SALISBURY, NC -- Catawba clinched at least a share of its first-ever Deep South Conference Lacrosse Championship with a 17-9 win over visiting Presbyterian on Saturday night at Shuford Stadium.  The win improves the Catawba Indians to 5-3 overall and 3-0 in the DSC.  The Blue Hose fall to 3-7 and 0-3.

Mike Dolesh (Aquasco, MD) and Kurt Green (San Diego, CA) each had five points for Catawba, while Wayne Carbiener (Orlando, FL) tallied four goals to pace the Indians.  George McManus (Ponte Vedra, FL) led Presbyterian with three goals.

Catawba scored the opening three goals and never trailed in the game.  The Indians would lead 5-2 at the end of the first quarter and 8-5 at the half.  Dolesh scored the final goal of the first half and struck again a minute into the third quarter in a four-goal run that put the Tribe up 11-5.

McManus added his second of the game in the third quarter as did Sean Mulford (Towson, MD) as PC pulled within 11-8 at the 3:43 mark.  Catawba responded as Sean Duggan (Wantaugh, NY) and Carbiener scored two goals each to push the Indian margin to 15-8 with 10:14 remaining.

PRESBYTERIAN (3-7, 0-3) 2 3 3 1 --  9
CATAWBA (5-3, 3-0) 5 3 4 5 -- 17

Composite Scoring (Goals-Assists)
Presbyterian: McManus 3-0, Foley 1-2, Mulford 2-0, Metcalfe, 2-0, Simantel 1-0
Catawba: Dolesh 3-2, Green 1-4, Carbiener 4-0, Dugfgan 3-0, Vinograd 2-0, Greaves 1-0, Newton 1-0,
Sullivan 1-0, Desper 1-0, Puccio 0-1.

Goaltending  Min Allwd Saves W/L
Pat Slaughter (P)  60    17      7  L
Ben Huber (C)  58     9      9  W
Brad Ross (C)   2     0      0

Shots:  Catawba 36, Presbyterian 31
Ground Balls: Catawba 37, Presbyterian 33
Faceoffs: Catawba 18-30, Presbtyerian 12-30
Man-up: Catawba 4-9, Presbyterian 0-6
Penalties-Minutes: Catawba 7-5:30, Presbyterian 9-5:30.

Box Score

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«June 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Lacrosse (M) Team Photo