Lacrosse (M)

Four Named to Deep South Lacrosse All-Tournament Team


WINGATE, NC -- Catawba placed four players on the Deep South Conference All-Tournament team which was announced by league officials on Tuesday.  Earning honors for the Tribe were sophomore midfielder Wayne Carbiener (Orlando, FL), junior attack Kurt Green (San Diego, CA), junior defender Matt Puccio (Oakton, VA) and freshman midfielder Nick Desper (Carrboro, NC).

Carbiener tallied two goals in the Indians’ tough loss to Wingate Sunday and also had a goal in the semifinal win over Mars Hill on Friday night.  Green recorded two goals and two assists in the 9-6 victory over Mars Hill and added a goal and assist in the final.  Puccio caused six turnovers and picked up three ground balls in two games, while Desper had three goals and an assist during the tournament.

Wingate junior midfielder Stephen Torkington (Coronado, CA.) was named the Most Valuable Player of the DSC tournament.  He scored the game-winning goal with 5:53 remaining in the fourth quarter, helping the Bulldogs to an 8-6 victory.  He led Wingate with two goals and one assist against Catawba and added a two goals in an 11-6 semifinal win over Saint Leo on Friday.

2007 Deep South Conference All-Tournament team
Steve Torkington (WIN) (MVP)
Evan Schaller (WIN)
Bryan Safarik (WIN)
Kyle Costello (WIN)
Ryan Otterblad (WIN)
Kurt Green (CAT)
Matt Puccio (CAT)
Nick Desper (CAT)
Wayne Carbiener (CAT)
Danny Farmer (MHC)
Ryan Harris (SLU)

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Lacrosse (M) Team Photo