Lacrosse (M)

Green Takes DSC Lacrosse Player of the Year Honors

WINGATE, NC -- Catawba College senior attacker Kurt Green (San Diego, CA/Mt. Carmel HS), who is second in the conference in goals and assists per game, has been named the 2008 Deep South Conference Player of the Year.  It was announced by the league on Monday.  He is the first Catawba player to claim the Player of the Year honor from the DSC.

Green has collected 29 goals and 41 points during the season, leading the Indians to a 3-1 conference record, good for a second place finish.  Two of the goals were game-winners and he has added 28 ground balls.

Saint Leo freshman midfielder Greg Geiss was named the Freshman of the Year, while Wingate’s Sonny Ziegler was honored as Coach of the Year.  A Syracuse, N.Y. native, Geiss has seven goals and four assists on the season, while also collecting 27 ground balls.  Ziegler has led the Wingate lacrosse team to an 11-2 overall record, and a perfect 4-0 league mark.  The Bulldogs are currently ranked ninth in the country.

Joining Green on the All-DSC team is senior defender Matt Puccio (Oakton, VA/Oakton HS).  Puccio leads the team with 25 caused turnovers on the season and has also recorded 51 groundballs.  He has chipped in with one assist.  Senior goalie Ben Huber (Westminster, MD/Westminster HS), junior Wayne Carbiener (Orlando, FL/Olympia HS) and sophomore Nick Desper (Carrboro, NC/Chapel Hill HS) received honorable mention status. 

2008 All-Deep South Conference Lacrossse Team and Award Winners

A - Kurt Green, CATAWBA, Sr.
A - Kyle Costello, Wingate, Sr.
A - David Hodgins, Mars Hill, Jr.
M - Steve Torkington, Wingate, Sr.
M - Danny Farmer, Mars Hill, So.
M - Mark Hodsdon, Wingate, Jr.
D - Evan Schaller, Wingate, Jr.
D - Matt Puccio, CATAWBA, Sr.
D - Colbe Klein, Mars Hill, Sr.
D - Michael Watson, Wingate, Sr.
SPEC. - Bob Chinn, Wingate, Sr.
SPEC. - Kris Frier, Mars Hill, Jr.
G - Nick Sigona, Mars Hill, Jr.

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR Gregg Geiss, Saint Leo
COACH OF THE YEAR: Sonny Ziegler, Wingate

Honorable Mention
Nick Desper, CATAWBA, So., Attack 
Wayne Carbiener, CATAWBA, Jr., Midfield
Tyler Farmer, Mars Hill, Fr., Midfield 
Mark Dargon, Saint Leo, Jr., Midfield 
Kyle Marceau, Saint Leo, So., Midfield
Greg Geiss, Saint Leo, Fr., Specialist  
Jeffrey Cizdziel, Mars Hill, Jr., Specialist
Ryu Arakawa, Saint Leo, So., Defense   
Alec Rahe, Saint Leo, Jr., Defense   
Ben Huber, CATAWBA, Sr., Goalie
Dave Suthers, Wingate, Sr., Goalie

Today's Events

Tennis (W) @ Lenoir-Rhyne, 2:00


«October 2017»
October 1

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3) 

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3) 

October 2

Golf (W) @ Myrtle Beach Inv - Day 1 (Ocean Ridge Plantation)

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4) 

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4) 

October 3

Golf (W) @ Myrtle Beach Inv - Day 2 (Ocean Ridge Plantation) 14th of 17

Volleyball @ Coker 1-3

October 4

Soccer (W) vs. QUEENS 0-1

Soccer (M) vs. QUEENS 1-1

October 5

Tennis (M) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 1-8

Tennis (W) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 7-2

October 6

Swimming @ Converse Women's Invite (Day 1) 

October 7

Swimming @ Converse Women's Invite (Day 2) 1st of 7

Cross Country @ Hagan Stone Classic W-1st;M-3rd

Football vs. NORTH GREENVILLE 26-20

Volleyball vs. NEWBERRY 2-3

Soccer (W) vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 0-3

Soccer (M) vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 0-3

October 9

Golf (W) in PATSY RENDLEMAN INV - Day 1 (CC of Salisbury)

Golf (M) @ NCAA II Preview - Day 1 (Rock Barn GC)

October 10

Golf (M) @ NCAA II Preview - Day 2 (Rock Barn GC) 9th of 17

Golf (W) in PATSY RENDLEMAN INV - Day 2 (CC of Salisbury) 10th of 17

October 11

Soccer (W) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 3-1

Soccer (M) vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 3-4

October 14

Football vs. WINGATE 24-27

Volleyball @ Anderson 0-3

Soccer (M) @ Anderson 1-2

Soccer (W) @ Anderson 1-2

October 16

Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 1 (Achasta GC)

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 1 (Mimosa Hills CC)

October 17

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 2 (Mimosa Hills CC) 11th of 13

Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 2 (Achasta GC) 12th of 16

Tennis (M) vs. Newberry 1-8

Tennis (W) vs. Newberry 4-5

October 18

Soccer (W) @ Wingate 0-1

Soccer (M) @ Wingate 0-0

October 19

Tennis (W) @ Lenoir-Rhyne 2 p.m.

October 20

Swimming vs. UNC WILMINGTON 2 p.m.

Volleyball vs. MARS HILL 6 p.m.

October 21

Swimming @ Wingate

Cross Country @ SAC Championships

Volleyball @ Tusculum 12:30 p.m.

Football @ Tusculum 2:30 p.m.

Soccer (M) vs. TUSCULUM 5 p.m.

Soccer (W) vs. TUSCULUM 7:30 p.m.

October 24

Soccer (W) vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 7 p.m.

Volleyball vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 7 p.m.

October 25

Soccer (M) vs. USC AIKEN 7 p.m.

October 27

Swimming Men @ Gardner-Webb 5 p.m.

Volleyball vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL 7 p.m.

October 28

Soccer (W) @ Lincoln Memorial 1 p.m.

Football @ Limestone 1 p.m.

Volleyball vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 2 p.m.

Soccer (M) @ Lincoln Memorial 3:30 p.m.

October 31

Soccer (W) in SAC Tournament (1st Round)

Soccer (M) @ SAC Tournament (1st Round)

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (M) Team Photo