Powers Named Daktronics Southeast Region Volleyball Player Of The Year

Powers and Griffith named first team All-Southeast Region

WINGATE, NC -- Senior middle hitter Melissa Powers (Bennett, NC/N. Moore HS), of Catawba College, has been named the 2008 Daktronics Southeast Region Volleyball Player of the Year.  In addition, Powers, along with senior teammate Melissa Griffith (Williamsburg, VA/Lafayette HS) are among seven student-athletes named to the Daktronics All-Southeast Region first team by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA).

Regional semi-finalists Catawba, Armstrong Atlantic State University and Wingate University have two student-athletes each on the first team.  Newberry College placed one student-athlete on the first team.  The 2008 NCAA Division II Daktronics Volleyball All-Southeast Region team was selected by a vote from the region’s sports information directors.  The seven first team members advance to the All-American ballot.

Powers, the South Atlantic Conference Player of the Year, led Catawba this season in kills, blocks and aces.  She is among the top 10 in the NCAA in kills per set at 4.30.  In addition, Powers hit at a 30 percent clip.

The senior ranked second in the SAC at 0.95 blocks per set and was eighth in aces at 0.36.  In the season opener, Powers set a school record for kills in a match with 37.  A second team All-South pick last season, she also posted Catawba marks for kills in a season and career.

Griffith makes the first team as an outside hitter. She earned All-Southeast Region tournament honors as she helped Catawba to the regional final.  She posted a career-high 30 kills in the opener of the tournament.  A four-time All-South Atlantic Conference performer, Griffith averaged 3.3 kills and 3.2 digs per set this season. She finished second on Catawba’s all-time kill list and third in career digs.

Daktronics All-Southeast Region Volleyball team (selected by CoSIDA)

First team
OH - Torrie Bevolo, Armstrong Atlantic State
OH - Melissa Griffith, CATAWBA
OH - Priscila Sales, Newberry
MB - Melissa Powers, CATAWBA
MB - Stormi Gale, Wingate
L - Maggie Malone, Wingate
S - Hannah Segebart, Armstrong Atlantic State

Second team
OH - Melissa Thomas, Limestone
OH - Carly Mozgai, Carson-Newman
OH - Amanda Horenkamp, Lincoln Memorial
MB - Rindy Vidovich, Armstrong Atlantic State
MB - Racey Bartley, Mount Olive
L - Mallory Peavler, Mount Olive
S - Liz Willis, Wingate

Player of the Year – Melissa Powers, Catawba

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«October 2017»
October 1

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3) 

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3) 

October 2

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4) 

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4) 

Golf (W) @ Myrtle Beach Inv - Day 1 (Ocean Ridge Plantation)

October 3

Golf (W) @ Myrtle Beach Inv - Day 2 (Ocean Ridge Plantation) 14th of 17

Volleyball @ Coker 1-3

October 4

Soccer (W) vs. QUEENS 0-1

Soccer (M) vs. QUEENS 1-1

October 5

Tennis (W) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 7-2

Tennis (M) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 1-8

October 6

Swimming @ Converse Women's Invite (Day 1) 

October 7

Swimming @ Converse Women's Invite (Day 2) 1st of 7

Cross Country @ Hagan Stone Classic W-1st;M-3rd

Football vs. NORTH GREENVILLE 26-20

Volleyball vs. NEWBERRY 2-3

Soccer (W) vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 0-3

Soccer (M) vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 0-3

October 9

Golf (W) in PATSY RENDLEMAN INV - Day 1 (CC of Salisbury)

Golf (M) @ NCAA II Preview - Day 1 (Rock Barn GC)

October 10

Golf (M) @ NCAA II Preview - Day 2 (Rock Barn GC) 9th of 17

Golf (W) in PATSY RENDLEMAN INV - Day 2 (CC of Salisbury) 10th of 17

October 11

Soccer (W) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 3-1

Soccer (M) vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 3-4

October 14

Football vs. WINGATE 24-27

Volleyball @ Anderson 0-3

Soccer (M) @ Anderson 1-2

Soccer (W) @ Anderson 1-2

October 16

Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 1 (Achasta GC)

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 1 (Mimosa Hills CC)

October 17

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 2 (Mimosa Hills CC) 11th of 13

Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 2 (Achasta GC) 12th of 16

Tennis (M) vs. Newberry 1-8

Tennis (W) vs. Newberry 4-5

October 18

Soccer (W) @ Wingate 0-1

Soccer (M) @ Wingate 0-0

October 19

Tennis (W) @ Lenoir-Rhyne 2-7

October 20

Swimming WOMEN vs. UNC WILMINGTON 81-172

Swimming MEN vs. UNC WILMINGTON 91-164

Volleyball vs. MARS HILL 1-3

October 21

Cross Country @ SAC Championships W-4th;M-8th

Volleyball @ Tusculum 0-3

Swimming Men @ Wingate 65-177

Swimming Women at Wingate 56-187

Football @ Tusculum 40-13

Soccer (M) vs. TUSCULUM 1-3

Soccer (W) vs. TUSCULUM 1-2

October 24

Volleyball vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 7 p.m.

October 25

Soccer (W) vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 5 p.m.

Soccer (M) vs. USC AIKEN 7 p.m.

October 27

Swimming Men @ Gardner-Webb 5 p.m.

Volleyball vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL 7 p.m.

October 28

Soccer (W) @ Lincoln Memorial 1 p.m.

Football @ Limestone 1 p.m.

Volleyball vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 2 p.m.

Soccer (M) @ Lincoln Memorial 3:30 p.m.

October 31

Soccer (W) in SAC Tournament (1st Round)

Soccer (M) @ SAC Tournament (1st Round)

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (M) Team Photo