Lyerly and Query Named All-Americans by ABCA


Catawba’s Craige Lyerly (Salisbury, NC/E. Rowan HS) and Ryan Query (Kannapolis, NC/Brown HS) have been named All-Americans by the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA).  Lyerly, a junior third baseman and Query, a senior catcher, were both third team selections.  Both were first team All-Southeast Region honorees with senior pitcher Blake Ketner (Davidson, NC/NW Cabarrus HS) earning second team all-region honors.

Lylery set school and conference records with 106 hits this season.  He finished the season on a school-record 35-game hitting streak and his .444 average was the highest since Charlie Beatty hit .504 in 1984.  Lyerly collected 16 doubles, four triples and hit 13 home runs.  He picked up 50 RBI and swiped a team-high 27 bases.

Query, who led the team with 20 home runs and 75 RBI, batted .384 on the year.  He also had a team-high 21 doubles.  Query finished among the top 10 career leaders in hits (240), RBI (179), runs scored (166), doubles (49) and home runs (34). 

Ketner was unable to pitch for Catawba at the regional after breaking a bone in a finger on his pitching hand.  In 14 starts, he posted a 10-3 record with a 3.93 ERA.  He tossed one shutout and finished his career with five shutouts which is second only to the six hurled by Roy Hardison.  Ketner’s 29 career wins ranks third all-time as he posted a 29-15 record over four years with a 3.74 ERA.

2009 Rawlings/ABCA NCAA II All-America Teams
First Team
1B - Jon Alia, CSU Dominguez Hills, Senior
2B - Cannon Lester , Southern Arkansas, Junior
3B - Yan Gomes, Barry, Junior
SS - Evan Porter, Nebraska-Omaha, Senior
INF - Matt Bodenchuk, Mesa State, Senior
OF - Matt Cotellese, West Chester, Senior
OF - Brandon Decker , Valdosta State, Junior
OF - Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta, Junior*
OF - Joe Wendte, Wayne State, Junior.
C - Jordan Schmitt, Abilene Christian, Senior
DH - Travis Howard, USC Aiken, Junior
SP - Gabriell Duran, Dowling, Sophomore
SP - Blake Keitzman, Western Oregon, Junior
SP - Hayden Simpson , Southern Arkansas, Sophomore
SP - Dan Wright, Lynn, Junior
RP - Chris Matlock, Central Missouri, Senior*
Player/Pitcher of the Year
Second Team
1B - Daniel Kassouf, Belmont Abbey, Sophomore
2B - Mike Baillargeon, Assumption, Senior
3B - Nate Arevalo, Cameron, Senior
SS - Vance Albitz, UC San Diego, Junior
INF - Eric Bond, Wayne State, Junior
OF - Connor Crumbliss, Emporia State, Senior
OF - Adam Darby , Harding, Senior
OF - Sam DiMatteo, California, Junior
OF - Bryan Fogle, Erskine, Junior.
C - Matt Adams, Slippery Rock, Junior
DH - Matt Costello , Valdosta State, Junior
SP - Darin Gorski, Kutztown, Junior
SP - Michael Thompson, Bellarmine, Senior
SP - Matt McGovern, UNC Pembroke, Junior
SP - Gary Moran, Sonoma St , Senior
RP - Brad Rutherford, Abilene Christian, Junior
Third Team
1B - Rob Dahlberg , U of West Alabama, Senior
1B - Evan McDole, Northern Kentucky, Junior
2B - Kyle Gendron, Grand Valley State, Junior
3B - Craige Lyerly, CATAWBA, Junior
3B - Jacob Petkac, Ashland, Junior
SS - Rich Racobaldo, MOC, Senior.
INF - Mark Angelo, East Stroudsburg, Senior
INF - Ben Sondgeroth, Indianapolis, Senior
OF - Kevin Dietrich, UNC Pembroke, Senior
OF - Jason Fobes, CSU-Pueblo, Senior.
OF - Mark Letchworth, Wingate, Senior
OF - J.D. Martinez, Nova Southeastern, Junior
OF - Chance Tuttle, Central Missouri, Senior
C - Ryan Query, CATAWBA, Senior
DH - Keith Towne, Angelo State, Junior
SP - Chris Armijo, Incarnate Word, Senior
SP - Michael Fiers, Nova Southeastern, Senior
SP - Jake Schmidt, Concordia-St. Paul, Senior
SP - Kyle Vazquez, Franklin Pierce, Junior
RP - Shaun Larsen, Southern Indiana, Senior
RP - Justin Moore, Dominican, Freshman

2009 ABCA All-Southeast Region Baseball Teams

First Team
SP – B.J. Dail, Mount Olive
SP – Nick Fogleman, Pfeiffer
SP – Matt McGovern, UNC Pembroke
SP – Cody Walden, Armstrong Atlantic
RP – Martin DeWald, Georgia College & State
C – Ryan Query, CATAWBA
1B – Daniel Kassouf, Belmont Abbey
2B – Chas Anthony, Erskine
3B – Craige Lyerly, CATAWBA
SS – Rich Rocobaldo, Mount Olive
Inf – Seth Kivett, UNC Pembroke
OF – Kevin Dietrich, UNC Pembroke
OF – Ryan Fogle, Erskine
OF – Mark Letchworth, Wingate
OF – Shannon Wilkerson, Augusta State
DH – Travis Howard, USC-Aiken

Second Team
SP – Blake Ketner, CATAWBA
SP – Josh Strawn, Lincoln Memorial
SP – C.J. Hillyer, Tusculum
SP – Tyler Powell, Belmont Abbey
RP – Rob Currie, Tusculum
C – Jared Barkdoll, Francis Marion
1B – Ken Raborn, USC Aiken
2B – Jason Coker, UNC Pembroke
3B – Andre Airich, North Georgia
SS – Barrett Kleinknecht, Francis Marion
Inf – Blair Carson, Anderson
OF – Cody McMorris, USC Aiken
OF – Alex Wyche, Armstrong Atlantic
OF – Greg Huff, Erskine
OF – Nate Grabowski, Tusculum
DH – Brian Williams, Mars Hill

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Baseball Team Photo