Five Named to All-SAC Baseball Team; Nathan Furr and Garrett Furr Claim Pitcher and Freshman of the Year Honors


ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba had five selections, all first teamers, on the 2010 South Atlantic Conference All-Conference Baseball Team, with Nathan Furr (Albemarle, NC/W. Stanly HS) being named Pitcher of the Year and Garrett Furr (Gold Hill, NC/Mt. Pleasant HS) earning Freshman of the Year honors.  It was announced by the league on Wednesday.

Nathan Furr has posted a 6-0 record on the mound with a 3.75 ERA over nine starts.  In 50 and a third innings, he allowed 56 hits with 11 walks and 46 strikeouts.  Garrett Furr split time at first base and as the designated hitter, batting .377 over 40 games.  He had 58 hits with nine doubles, a triple and 10 home runs.  He collected 41 RBI.

Joining Nathan Furr as first team all-conference selections were outfielder Wade Moore (Salisbury, NC/W. Rowan HS/NC State), third baseman Craige Lyerly (Salisbury, NC/E. Rowan HS), starting pitcher Trevor Mullins (Jamestown, NC/Ragsdale HS/Appalachian St.) and relief pitcher Wil Huneycutt (Locust, NC/W. Stanley HS).  Moore and Lyerly were also named to the league’s initial Gold Glove Team.

Moore leads Catawba in nearly every offensive category, including average (.448), home runs (14) and RBI (53).  The senior has collected 19 doubles and scored 67 runs while swiping 28 bases.

Lyerly is batting .409 with 70 hits, 46 RBI and seven homers.  He has added 27 stolen bases and enters the SAC Tournament with a streak of reaching base safely in 79 consecutive games.

Mullins is 7-2 on the hill and has posted a 3.87 ERA.  Over 74 and a third innings he has surrendered 74 hits with 25 walks and 78 strikeouts.  In his last start he posted a career-high 15 strikeouts in a complete game win.

Huneycutt has made 21 relief appearances this season with a 4-1 record and a pair of saves.  In 31 innings on the mound, the sophomore has allowed 33 hits with only three walks and 34 strikeouts. 


Catcher – Sean Cotten, Tusculum
Pitcher – Nathan Furr, CATAWBA
Pitcher – Trevor Mullins, CATAWBA
Pitcher - Tyler Almond, Wingate
Relief Pitcher – Wil Huneycutt, CATAWBA
1st base – Jared Richmond, Tusculum
2nd base – Logan Isaacs, Wingate
Shortstop – Mills Rogers, Carson-Newman
3rd base – Craige Lyerly, CATAWBA
Outfield – Wade Moore, CATAWBA
Outfield – Jeff Lockwood, Carson-Newman
Outfield – Mike Kitt, Mars Hill
Designated Hitter – Brian Dice, Lenoir-Rhyne

Catcher – Rob Knight, Lenoir-Rhyne
Pitcher – Austin Bridgewater, Carson-Newman
Pitcher – Tyler Collins, Tusculum
Pitcher - Justin Hall, Mars Hill
Relief Pitcher – Tony Hearrell, Mars Hill
1st base – Derek Long, Carson-Newman
2nd base – Payden Houser, Tusculum
Shortstop – Chris Vazquez, Wingate
3rd base – John Couch, Lincoln Memorial
Outfield – Nate Grabowski, Tusculum
Outfield – Cody Pack, Lincoln Memorial
Outfield – Evan Taylor, Lenoir-Rhyne
Designated Hitter - Sean Finucane, Tusculum

Pitcher - Greg Smith, Mars Hill
Catcher - Rob Knight, Lenoir-Rhyne
1st Base - Brandon Savacoa, Mars Hill
2nd Base - Hank Wofford, Lenoir-Rhyne
Shortstop - Devin Presnell, Mars Hill
3rd Base - Craige Lyerly, CATAWBA
Outfield - Wade Moore, CATAWBA
Outfield - Evan Taylor, Lenoir-Rhyne
Outfield - Mike Kitt, Mars Hill

Player of the Year: Jared Richmond, Tusculum
Pitcher of the Year: Nathan Furr, CATAWBA
Freshman of the Year: Garrett Furr, CATAWBA
Coach of the Year: Dan Taylor, Mars Hill
Scholar-Athlete: Derek Long, Carson-Newman

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 5


«June 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Baseball Team Photo