Cross Country

Cross Country Teams Voted Fifth and Sixth in SAC Preseason Polls


ROCK HILL, SC -- Led by the return of its entire lineup from a year ago, the Catawba men were picked fifth in the 2010 South Atlantic Conference preseason coaches’ poll.  The women, who return five runners, were voted sixth.

The Catawba men placed two runners on the preseason squad, 2009 SAC Freshman of the Year Christian Crifasi and fellow rising sophomore Justin Smith.  Crifasi was a first team selection, while Smith made the second team.  Senior Hannah Thomas was named to the second team for the women’s preseason team.

Lenoir-Rhyne, the two-time defending SAC women’s champions, is the unanimous choice to capture the 2010 title, in a vote of the league's head coaches.  Mars Hill, which has won 13 straight men’s titles, grabbed all 10 first place votes on the men’s side.
The 2010 season begins Thursday, September 2 with Mars Hill participating in the Montreat Invitational.  Tusculum runs Friday, September 3 in the Stampede at the Shoals meet in Elizabethton, Tenn.  Most of the other teams will participate in the Eye Opener Meet in Spartanburg, S.C. on Saturday, September 4.  The 2010 Food Lion SAC Cross Country Championship will be November 6 at Wingate University.

2010 SAC Men's Cross Country Preseason Coaches Poll
1. Mars Hill (10) 100
2. Lenoir-Rhyne  83
3. Anderson  71
4. Wingate  70
5. Catawba  65
6. Carson-Newman  48
7. Brevard  45
8. Lincoln Memorial  29
9. Newberry  24
10. Tusculum  15
(First place votes in parenthesis)

2010 SAC Men's Cross Country Preseason All-Conference Team
First Team
Christian Crifasi, Catawba
Tyler Mooney, Lenoir-Rhyne
Kit Powell, Mars Hill
Justin Gragg, Mars Hill
Trey McCain, Mars Hill
Aaron Thomas, Mars Hill
Simon Holzapfel, Tusculum

Second Team
Jonathan Madden, Carson-Newman
Justin Smith, Catawba
Jakob Maidens, Lenoir-Rhyne
Patrick Ryan, Lenoir-Rhyne
Zack Queen, Lenoir-Rhyne
Derrick Lindsay, Lincoln Memorial
Eric Blackburn, Mars Hill

2010 SAC Women's Cross Country Preseason Coaches Poll
1. Lenoir-Rhyne (10) 100
2. Carson-Newman  80
3. Anderson  76
4. Wingate  74
5. Lincoln Memorial  59
6. Catawba  52
7. Mars Hill  45
8. Brevard  33
9. Newberry  20
10. Tusculum  11
(First place votes in parenthesis)

2010 SAC Women's Cross Country Preseason All-Conference Team
First Team
Whitney Bishoff, Anderson
Brooke Earhart, Carson-Newman
Meredith Nix, Carson-Newman
Kate Griewisch, Lenoir-Rhyne
Tiffany Payne, Lenoir-Rhyne
Sofia Lopez Mimendi, Lincoln Memorial
Alicia Harbold, Wingate

Second Team
Melissa Ford, Carson-Newman
Hannah Thomas, Catawba
Liz Chaffee, Lenoir-Rhyne
Amanda Barnes, Lenoir-Rhyne
Fiona Reinecke, Lincoln Memorial
Ashley Robbins, Lincoln Memorial
Hannah Moore, Mars Hill

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«June 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Cross Country Team Photo