Cross Country

Men Finish Fifth, Women Sixth at SAC Cross Country Championships


WINGATE, NC -- Catawba College’s men were fifth and the women sixth at the 2010 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Cross Country Championships on Saturday morning at the Wingate University Cross Country facility.  Three Catawba Indians ran to All-SAC honors, sophomore Christian Crifasi (Ramseur, NC/E. Randolph HS) on the men’s side and freshman Olivia Myers (Lexington, NC/W. Davidson HS) and Peyton Thompson (Winston-Salem, NC/N. Davidson HS) for the women.

The Mars Hill men won their 14th consecutive conference championship, while Anderson, who joined the league this season, claimed the women’s title.  Tusculum senior Simon Holzapfel won his second-straight individual title with a school-record 8K time of 25:04.   Junior Whitney Bishoff, of Anderson, claimed the women’s title with a 5K time of 18:10.

For Catawba, Crifisi finished tenth, covering the course in a time of 26:20.  It marked his fasted time of his career and is sixth-best in school history.  Myers, who just edged Thompson for a spot on the SAC All-Freshman team, posted a time of 20:44 to finish 13th.  Thompson was four seconds back.

Men’s Team Standings
1. Mars Hill 51, 2. Lenoir- Rhyne 70, 3. Anderson 73, 4. Wingate 86, 5. CATAWBA 182, 6. Lincoln Memorial 187, 7. Brevard 193, 8. Tusculum 211, 9. Carson Newman, 10. Newberry 219

Catawba Individuals
10. Christian Crifasi, 26:20
25. Justin Smith, 27:17
33. Clay Yarbrough, 27:48
71. Jonathan Cooley, 31:25
76. Jacob Hill, 32:36
79. Peter Glisson, 34:31
80. Jarrett Jackson, 36:04

Men’s Award Winners
First Team All-Conference
Simon Holzapfel, Tusculum
Justin Gragg, Mars Hill
George McCain, Mars Hill
Aaron Thomas, Mars Hill
Jakob Maidens, Lenoir- Rhyne
Steve Hammond, Wingate
Tyler Mooney, Lenoir- Rhyne

Second Team All-Conference
Binyam Belachew, Wingate
Nigel Reynolds, Anderson
Christian Crifasi, CATAWBA
Derrick Lindsay, Lincoln Memorial
Andrew Smith, Wingate
Kyle Koby, Anderson
Eric Blackburn, Mars Hill

All-Freshman Team
Steve Hammond, Wingate
Binyam Belachew, Wingate
Kyle Koby, Anderson
Parks Edwards, Anderson
Will Belue, Anderson

Runner Of The Year – Simon Holzapfel, Tusculum
Frereshman Of The Year – Steve Hammond, Wingate
Coach Of The Year – Mike Owens, Mars Hill
Scholar Athlete – Simon Holzapfel, Tusculum

Women’s Team Standings
1. Anderson University 47, 2. Lenoir- Rhyne 53, 3. Wingate 81, 4. Mars Hill 120, 5. Carson Newman 127, 6. Catawba 151, 7. Lincoln Memorial 181, 8. Brevard 194, 9. Tusculum 255, 10. Newberry 281

Catawba Individuals
13. Olivia Myers, 20:44
14. Peyton Thompson, 20:48
34. Hannah Thomas, 21:58
43. Jordan Greene, 22:41
49. Candace Hall, 23:00
64. Leigh Ann Cooley, 24:35
67. Kendra Joyner, 24:53
73. Kelli Ferguson, 25:57
75. Danielle Garcia, 26:07
77. Anne Mabry, 28:58

Women’s Award Winners
First Team All-Conference
Whitney Bishoff, Anderson
Kate Griewisch, Lenoir-Rhyne
Lydia Davis, Anderson
Cassie Adamson, Mars Hill
Angela Canale, Brevard
Keeley Wood, Wingate
Amanda Barnes, Lenoir-Rhyne

Second Team All-Conference
Emily Eckroth, Anderson
Madeline Fitts, Anderson
Tiffany Payne, Lenoir-Rhyne
Alicia Harbold, Wingate
Fiona Reinecke, Lincoln Memorial
Olivia Myers, CATAWBA
Peyton Thompson, CATAWBA

All-Freshman Team
Lydia Davis, Anderson
Angela Canale, Brevard
Keeley Wood, Wingate
Madeline Fitts, Anderson
Olivia Myers, CATAWBA

Runner Of The Year – Whitney Bishoff, Anderson
Freshman Of The Year – Lydia Davis, Anderson
Coach Of The Year – Randy Green, Anderson and Jason Stewart, Lenoir-Rhyne
Scholar Athlete – Kate Griewisch, Lenoir-Rhyne

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«June 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Cross Country Team Photo