Golf (M)

Kilchenstein Earns All-SAC Men's Golf Honors


ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba senior men’s golfer Evan Kilchenstein (Severna Park, MD/Archbishop Curley HS) has been named second team All-South Atlantic Conference.  It was announced by the league office on Friday.  Both the Catawba men and women will play in the SAC Championships which begin on Monday at the Rock Barn Golf & Spa in Conover, NC.

Kilchenstein has posted a 74.1 stroke average over nine events for the Catawba Indians this season.  He has led the team at three events with a best finish of seventh last week at the Carolina Sands Intercollegiate.  Kichenstein has posted three top 10 finishes.

Newberry 's Matthew Campbell, who averaged 72.2 strokes per round, was named the 2010-11 South Atlantic Conference Men's Golfer of the Year, while Carson-Newman's Jessica Tarbet, who led the conference with a 77.4 stroke average, was named the Women's Golfer of the Year.
Campbell shot a season-low 68 on three separate occasions. He won the Honda of Columbia Fall Classic, and finished second at the Rutgers Invitational.  Tarbet had four top-five finishes and was the medalist at the Agnes McAmis Memorial tournament.

Newberry took home both Coach of the Year honors.  Brian McCants took honors on the men’s side, while Lauren McCants earned the women’s honor.  Carson-Newman's Jonathan Kim-Moss was named the men's Freshman of the Year for the men with a 75.7 stroke average.   Anderson's Katie Eskew was the women's Freshman of the Year after posting an 82.1 stroke average.

Newberry's Ben Lown was named the men's golf Scholar-Athlete, while Lincoln Memorial's Kirsten Wolff was selected the women's golf Scholar-Athlete for the second year in a row.   Lown, a three-time first team All-SAC pick, is a senior majoring in business administration and has a 3.5 GPA.  Last year, he was named to the Golf Coaches Association of America All-America Scholar team.  Wolff is a senior with a 3.612 GPA, with a double major in kinesiology and business management.


Men's All-Conference
First Team
Liam Ashby, Carson-Newman
Gavin Hay, Carson-Newman
Matthew Campbell, Newberry
Ben Lown, Newberry
Daniel Stanley, Newberry

Second Team
Evan Kilchenstein, CATAWBA
Brandon Squier, Lenoir-Rhyne
Eric Kennedy, Lincoln Memorial
Jamie Chapman, Lincoln Memorial
Nick York, Tusculum

Player of the Year: Matthew Campbell, Newberry
Freshman of the Year: Jonathan Kim-Moss, Carson-Newman
Coach of the Year: Brian McCants, Newberry
Scholar-Athlete: Ben Lown, Newberry

Women's All-Conference
First Team
Jessica Tarbet, Carson-Newman
Maria Luz Besio, Newberry
Barbara Castro, Newberry
Julia Daneshfar, Newberry
Ashley Denton, Wingate

Second Team
Erica Ray, Carson-Newman
Katie Thackerson, Lenoir-Rhyne
Brenna Martens, Lenoir-Rhyne
Brittany McCown, Lincoln Memorial
Natalia Perez, Newberry

Player of the Year: Jessica Tarbet, Carson-Newman
Freshman of the Year: Katie Eskew, Anderson
Coach of the Year: Lauren McCants, Newberry
Scholar-Athlete: Kirsten Wolff, Lincoln Memorial

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Golf (M) Team Photo