Lacrosse (M)

Six Earn Deep South Lacrosse Honors


WINGATE, NC -- Catawba had six men’s lacrosse players recognized by the Deep South Conference for their outstanding play this season.  Braden Artem (Acton, Ontario, CANADA/Christ the King) was the lone first all-conference selection, while Marty Tuohy (Weymouth, MA/Weymouth HS), Freddie Turcio (Guilford, CT/Guilford HS), Casey Chinn (Mooresville, NC/Lake Norman HS) and Drew Stoltz (Chapel Hill, NC/Chapel HS) were second team selection.  Cory Losselyong (Lewisville, NC/W. Forsyth HS) earned honorable mention honors.

Artem, a junior attack, was second in the league with 34 goals entering the DSC Tournament.  He has also collected 11 assists, ranking second in the conference with 3.75 points per game.  Tuohy and Chinn were the lone Indian seniors on the teams.  Tuohy, an attack, was second to Artem with 23 goals and handed out a dozen assists.  Chinn was named at the specialist position after winning 53% of his face-off attempts this season to date while scooping up a team-high 68 ground balls.

Turcio, a junior middie, has chipped in with 15 goals and six assists along with picking up 27 ground balls and causing eight turnovers.  Stoltz, a sophomore defender, leads Catawba with 14 caused turnovers and has recorded 21 ground balls.  Losselyong, a junior middie, has tallied 14 goals with four assists.

Mars Hill senior attack Tyler Farmer was named the Player of the Year, while Saint Leo’s Matt Obermeyer was Freshman of the Year.   Marty Ward, of Florida Southern, and Greg Paradine, of Lenoir-Rhyne, earned co-Coach of the Year honors.

2011 All-Deep South Conference
First Team
A - Tyler Farmer, Mars Hill, Senior
A - Eric Benesch, Mars Hill, Senior 
A - Braden Artem, Catawba, Junior
M - TJ Cowx, Mars Hill, Junior 
M - Derek Watts, Wingate, Sophomore 
M - Tyler Kotch, Lenoir-Rhyne, Freshman
Spec - Chris Cudmore, Mars Hill, Junior  
Spec - Mike Del  Buono, Saint Leo, Senior
D - Dalton Jernigan, Mars Hill, Junior 
D - Matt Ramsey, Wingate, Senior 
D - Ryan Askerberg, Saint Leo, Senior
G - Dylan Price, Mars Hill, Junior

Second Team
A - Colin O'Donoghue, Wingate, Sophomore 
A - Mat Thompson, Florida Southern, Junior 
A - Marty Tuohy, Catawba, Senior 
A - George Proechel, Saint Leo, Sophomore
M - Kevin Naslonski, Florida Southern, Freshman 
M - Fred Turcio, Catawba, Junior 
M - Bryan Bayliss, Wingate, Junior 
Spec - Adam Ismaeil, Florida Southern, Junior 
Spec - Casey Chinn, Catawba, Senior 
D - Drew Stoltz, Catawba, Sophomore 
D - Mark Burnett, Mars Hill, Senior 
D - Nick Scannapieco, Rollins, Sophomore 
D - Larry Gress, Florida Southern, Freshman
G - Dan Dlugozima, Wingate, Junior

Honorable Mention
A - Ike Hopper, Florida Southern, Sophomore
A - Austin Ricci, Rollins, Junior
M - Cory Losselyong, Catawba, Junior
M - Jon Freda, Florida Southern, Junior
M - Eric Schmit, Rollins, Junior
Spec - Adam Jones, Wingate, Senior 
D - Stephen O'Hara, Lenoir-Rhyne, Freshman
G - Andrew Almansberger, Florida Southern, Junior

DSC Player of the Year: Tyler Farmer, Mars Hill
DSC Freshman of the Year: Matt Obermeyer, Saint Leo
DSC Coach of the Year: Marty Ward, Florida Southern & Greg Paradine, Lenoir-Rhyne

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Lacrosse (M) Team Photo