Lomascolo, Dula, Huneycutt and Gantt Claim Top SAC Post-Season Baseball Awards


ROCK HILL, SC -- Sophomore pitcher Nick Lomascolo (Mooresville, NC/Lake Norman HS), freshman third baseman Chris Dula (Troutman, NC/S. Iredell HS), senior relief pitcher Wil Huneycutt (Locust, NC/W. Stanly HS) and Head Coach Jim Gantt head the list of Catawba post-season 2011 South Athletic Conference baseball award winners.  The winners were announced on Tuesday by the league office. 

Lomascolo earned Pitcher of the Years honors, Dula was selected as Freshman of the Year, Gantt was named Coach of the Year and Huneycutt was the SAC Baseball Scholar Athlete.  Catawba had five players selected to the all-conference team, all were first team picks.  Joining Lomascolo, Dula and Huneycutt on the All-SAC team was junior pitcher JJ Jankowski (McMurray, PA/Peters Township HS, Miami,OH) and sophomore designated hitter Garrett Furr (Gold Hill, NC/Mt. Pleasant HS).

Lomascolo has compiled an 8-1 record and leads the conference with a 2.45 ERA.  He stands second with 79 strikeouts and opposing batters have hit just .201 against him.  In his 80 and two-thirds innings, Lomascolo has surrendered just 58 hits.  He has combined on a pair of shutouts and also posted one save.

Dula leads the team with a .387 average, 53 RBI and 18 doubles.  He ranks fifth in the SAC in average, third in slugging percentage (.650) and second in on-base percentage (.490).  His 63 hits stand fourth in the SAC, while he ranks third in double and fourth in RBI.

Huneycutt leads the league with eight saves and 25 total appearances.  He has posted a 1.93 ERA.  In the classroom, he has attained a 3.97 GPA while majoring in business administration.  Huneycutt has been on the Dean's List for six semesters and the President's List twice. He was an Academic All-District selection last year. He is a Presidential Scholarship recipient, and a member of two honor societies.  He is a member of the Catawba Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, and has volunteered with Second Harvest Food Bank's Mobile Food Pantry, as well as helping to raise money for Make-A-Wish.

Jankowski stands second in the SAC with seven wins and is fifth with a 3.13 ERA.  His 11.1 strikeouts per game tops the conference as he has struck out 96 batters in 77 and two-thirds innings of work.  He has a 7-1 record with one save.

Furr leads Catawba and stands ninth in the SAC with nine home runs, including a pair of grand slams.  He is hitting .333 with 46 RBI and 34 runs scored.  His RBI total ranks sixth in the conference.

Wingate outfielder Dodson McPherson was named the Player of the Year.  He leads the conference with 15 home runs and 72 RBIs this season.

The conference also announced the Gold Glove team.  Catawba had five players selected for their work with the leather.  Senior catcher, Josh Hohn (Greensboro, NC/S. Guilford HS/North Greenville), junior first baseman Austin Moyer (Greensboro, NC/SE Guilford HS/USC Upstate), freshman second baseman Julio Zubillaga (China Grove, NC/Carson HS), junior shortstop Brett Underwood (Greensboro, NC/SW Guilford HS) and junior outfielder Ryan Bostian (Kannapolis, NC/S. Rowan HS/Montreat).

Hohn has made just three errors behind the plate with only six passed balls.  He has handled the top-ranked pitching staff in the SAC and helped limit Catawba to just 28 wild pitches.  Moyer has only two errors this season, while handling 286 chances.

Zubillaga is fielding at a .963 clip, making six miscues in 162 attempts.  Underwood has committed 13 errors in 164 chances, posting a .921 fielding percentage.  Bostian has just one error this season and has added seven outfield assists.


Catcher - Sean Cotten, Tusculum
Pitcher - Nick Lomascolo, Catawba
Pitcher - JJ Jankowski, Catawba
Pitcher - Craig Goodman, Tusculum
Relief Pitcher - Wil Huneycutt, Catawba
First Baseman - Brian Yeung, Wingate
Second Baseman - Juan Alvarez, LMU
Shortstop - Michael Bueker, Mars Hill
Third Baseman - Chris Dula, Catawba
Outfielder - Dodson McPherson, Wingate
Outfielder - Alexi Colon, Tusculum
Outfielder - Cody Pack, LMU
Designated Hitter - Garrett Furr, Catawba

Catcher - Brian Dice, Lenoir-Rhyne
Pitcher - Austin Johnson, LMU
Pitcher - Justin Somers, Wingate
Pitcher - Dylan Hochevar, Tusculum
Relief Pitcher - Tyler Sturkie, Newberry
First Baseman - Randy O'Dell, Brevard
Second Baseman - Ryan Saxon, Anderson
Shortstop - Chris Love, Newberry
Third Baseman - John Couch, LMU
Outfielder - Michael Brittian, Mars Hill
Outfielder - Jon Dalton, Carson-Newman
Outfielder - Rolondo Bonner, Tusculum
Designated Hitter - Gelson Perez, LMU

COACH OF THE YEAR - Jim Gantt, Catawba
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Chris Dula, Catawba
PITCHER OF THE YEAR - Nick Lomascolo, Catawba
PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Dodson McPherson, Wingate
SCHOLAR-ATHLETE - Wil Huneycutt, Catawba

Pitcher - Christian Hicks, Lenoir-Rhyne
Catcher - Josh Hohn, Catawba
First Base - Austin Moyer, Catawba
Second Base - Mike Gasque, Lenoir-Rhyne
Second Base - Julio Zubillaga, Catawba
Shortstop - Brett Underwood, Catawba
Third Base - Blake May, Anderson
Outfield - Cody Pack, Lincoln Memorial
Outfield - Cody Nix, Carson-Newman
Outfield - Ryan Bostian, Catawba

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 5


«May 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Baseball Team Photo