Lacrosse (M)

Lacrosse Places Four on Deep South All-Tournament Team

WINGATE, NC -- The Deep South Conference has released the full 2011 Deep South All-Tournament team.  It was announced on Tuesday.  Catawba placed four players on the team, headed by tournament MVP Braden Artem (Acton, Ontario, CANADA/Christ the King).

Joining Artem, a junior attack, on the all-tournament team was junior goalie Michael Pecchia (Coquitlam, BC, CANADA/Heritage Woods), senior middie Casey Chinn (Mooresville, NC/Lake Norman HS) and freshman attack John Scheich (Waxhaw, NC/Weddington HS).

Artem was held to just one goal in the championship game against Florida Southern, but the tally did give the Indians a two-goal cushion with 2:39 remaining.  Artem kept Catawba alive in the first round on his goal with just five seconds remaining to force overtime, where he assisted on the game-winner.  He scored the overtime winner in the semifinal upset of #9 Mars Hill.  For the tournament, Artem scored nine goals and had two assists.

Pecchia averaged 12 saves a game over the tournament with a goals against average of 8.43.  He posted a .574 save percentage.  Chinn won 13-of-20 face-offs in the semifinal win over Mars Hill with three goals and 12 ground balls.  Over the three games he had 26 face-off wins with 19 ground balls and the three goals.  Scheich scored two late goals in the championship game to put Catawba in the lead.  He finished the tournament with five goals and four assists.

2011 Deep South Conference Lacrosse All-Tournament Team
Braden Artem (Catawba, Jr) - MVP
Michael Pecchia (Catawba, Jr)
Casey Chinn (Catawba, Sr) 
John Scheich (Catawba, Fr)
Corey Brown (Florida Southern, So)
Ike Hopper (Florida Southern, So) 
Mat Thompson (Florida Southern, Jr)
Rob Van Bomel (Saint Leo, So) 
Mike Del Buono (Saint Leo, Sr)
Chris Cudmore (Mars Hill, Jr)
Tim Burns (Mars Hill, Sr)

Today's Events

Swimming vs. UNC WILMINGTON, 2:00
Volleyball vs. MARS HILL, 6:00VideoStats


«October 2017»
October 1

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3) 

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3) 

October 2

Golf (W) @ Myrtle Beach Inv - Day 1 (Ocean Ridge Plantation)

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4) 

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4) 

October 3

Golf (W) @ Myrtle Beach Inv - Day 2 (Ocean Ridge Plantation) 14th of 17

Volleyball @ Coker 1-3

October 4

Soccer (W) vs. QUEENS 0-1

Soccer (M) vs. QUEENS 1-1

October 5

Tennis (M) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 1-8

Tennis (W) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 7-2

October 6

Swimming @ Converse Women's Invite (Day 1) 

October 7

Swimming @ Converse Women's Invite (Day 2) 1st of 7

Cross Country @ Hagan Stone Classic W-1st;M-3rd

Football vs. NORTH GREENVILLE 26-20

Volleyball vs. NEWBERRY 2-3

Soccer (W) vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 0-3

Soccer (M) vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 0-3

October 9

Golf (W) in PATSY RENDLEMAN INV - Day 1 (CC of Salisbury)

Golf (M) @ NCAA II Preview - Day 1 (Rock Barn GC)

October 10

Golf (M) @ NCAA II Preview - Day 2 (Rock Barn GC) 9th of 17

Golf (W) in PATSY RENDLEMAN INV - Day 2 (CC of Salisbury) 10th of 17

October 11

Soccer (W) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 3-1

Soccer (M) vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 3-4

October 14

Football vs. WINGATE 24-27

Volleyball @ Anderson 0-3

Soccer (M) @ Anderson 1-2

Soccer (W) @ Anderson 1-2

October 16

Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 1 (Achasta GC)

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 1 (Mimosa Hills CC)

October 17

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 2 (Mimosa Hills CC) 11th of 13

Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 2 (Achasta GC) 12th of 16

Tennis (M) vs. Newberry 1-8

Tennis (W) vs. Newberry 4-5

October 18

Soccer (W) @ Wingate 0-1

Soccer (M) @ Wingate 0-0

October 19

Tennis (W) @ Lenoir-Rhyne 2-7

October 20

Swimming vs. UNC WILMINGTON 2 p.m.

Volleyball vs. MARS HILL 6 p.m.

October 21

Swimming @ Wingate

Cross Country @ SAC Championships

Volleyball @ Tusculum 12:30 p.m.

Football @ Tusculum 2:30 p.m.

Soccer (M) vs. TUSCULUM 5 p.m.

Soccer (W) vs. TUSCULUM 7:30 p.m.

October 24

Soccer (W) vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 7 p.m.

Volleyball vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 7 p.m.

October 25

Soccer (M) vs. USC AIKEN 7 p.m.

October 27

Swimming Men @ Gardner-Webb 5 p.m.

Volleyball vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL 7 p.m.

October 28

Soccer (W) @ Lincoln Memorial 1 p.m.

Football @ Limestone 1 p.m.

Volleyball vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 2 p.m.

Soccer (M) @ Lincoln Memorial 3:30 p.m.

October 31

Soccer (W) in SAC Tournament (1st Round)

Soccer (M) @ SAC Tournament (1st Round)

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (M) Team Photo