Cross Country

Crifasi Takes Runner Finish at SAC Cross Country Championships


MORRISTOWN, TN --The Catawba men finished eighth and the women ninth at the 2011 Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Cross Country Championships which were held on Saturday morning at Panther Creek.  Junior Christian Crifasi (Ramseur, NC/E. Randolph HS) ran to first team All-SAC honors as he finished second in the men’s race.

Mars Hill claimed its 15th consecutive men’s championship, while Anderson claimed the title in the women’s race.  Justin Gragg earned Runner of the Year honors on the men’s side as he won the race in a time of 26:31.  It was 10 seconds faster than Crifasi.  Lenoir-Rhyne’s Kate Griewisch took home Runner of  the Year honors on the women’s side with her winning time of 18:09.

2011 Food Lion SAC Men’s Championship Team Results
1. Mars Hill 46, 2. Anderson 48, 3. Wingate 98, 4. Lenoir-Rhyne 101, 5. Brevard 142, 6. Lincoln Memorial 176, 7. Newberry 197, 8. CATAWBA 204, 9. Carson-Newman 230, 10. Tusculum 249.

VideoVIDEO: Crifasi Discusses Season and Future Goals

Catawba Individuals
2. Christian Crifasi, 26:41
48. Clay Yarbrough, 29:50
57. Justin Smith, 30:29
71. Jonathan Cooley, 32:25
73. Josh Payne, 33:20
83. Jacob Hill, 38:37

SAC Runner of the Year:  Justin Gragg, Mars Hill
SAC Freshman of the Year:  Mike York, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year:  Justin Gragg, Mars Hill
SAC Coach of the Year:  Mike Owens, Mars Hill

All-Conference First Team
Justin Gragg, Mars Hill
Christian Crifasi, Catawba
Mike York, Lenoir-Rhyne
Parks Edwards, Anderson
Eric Blackburn, Mars Hill
Derrick Lindsay, Lincoln Memorial
Steve Hammond, Wingate

All-Conference Second Team
Alex Pena, Anderson
Deniz Hay, Anderson
Christopher Powell, Mars Hill
Josh Mower, Brevard
Kyle Koby, Anderson
Biniam Ateka Belachew, Wingate
Josh Greenfield-Tuttle, Mars Hill

All-Freshman Team
Mike York, Lenoir-Rhyne
Maurice Riden, Mars Hill
Bart Merkel, Brevard
Justin Golay, Newberry
David Cooper, Tusculum

2011 Food Lion SAC Women’s Championship Team Results
1. Anderson 60, 2. Lenoir-Rhyne 63, 3. Wingate 74, 4. Carson-Newman 119, 5. Mars Hill 125, 6. Lincoln Memorial 129, 7. Brevard 162, 8. Newberry 217, 9. CATAWBA 243, 10. Tusculum 288.

Catawba Individuals
33. Olivia Myers, 21:49
53. Candace Hall, 23:31
60. Leigh Ann Cooley, 24:09
61. Devan Purvis, 24:10
67. Jordan Greene, 24:39
75. Danielle Garcia, 26:00

SAC Runner of the Year:  Kate Griewisch, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Freshman of the Year:  Madison Hill, Brevard
SAC Scholar-Athlete of the Year:  Kate Griewisch, Lenoir-Rhyne
SAC Coach of the Year:  Randy Greer, Anderson

All-Conference First Team
Kate Greiwisch, Lenoir-Rhyne
Whitney Bishoff, Anderson
Keeley Wood, Wingate
Madison Hill, Brevard
Sofia Lopez Mimendi, Lincoln Memorial
Ashley Kale, Lenoir-Rhyne
Hannah Reese, Carson-Newman

All-Conference Second Team
Jessica Viscusi, Mars Hill
Hannah Robles, Anderson
Brianna Stevens, Wingate
Angela Canale, Brevard
Cassie Adamson, Mars Hill
Amber Stoerp, Lincoln Memorial
Amanda Johnson, Anderson

All-Freshman Team
Madison Hill, Brevard
Jessica Viscusi, Mars Hill
Sydney Hazel, Anderson
Rebecca eddy, Newberry
Hanna Ramirez, Lenoir-Rhyne

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Cross Country Team Photo