Cross Country

Willis wins SAC Cross Country Meet, earns Runner of Year honors

GREENEVILLE, TN – Catawba freshman Ryan Willis (Jonesboro, GA) earned both Runner of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors as he claimed the individual title at the 2002 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Cross Country Championships on Saturday morning at the Greene Valley Development Center. Willis posted a time of 27:31 to win by 15 seconds over Craig Eckstein, of Mars Hill. Mars Hill won the men’s meet with Catawba finishing second, just two points ahead of Carson-Newman. Tribe junior, Jesse Howes (Huntington, MA) finished fourth with a time of 28:14 and joined Willis and the All-SAC first team. The Catawba women earned a fourth place finish and were led by Rebecca DeFeo (Cape May Courthouse, NJ). The junior earned second team All-SAC honor for the second time with a 13th place finish in a time of 21:34. Carson-Newman won the women’s race, defeating Mars Hill by 24 points. Both Catawba teams will participate in the 2002 NCAA Division II Southeast Regional to be held next Saturday in Cary, NC, at the SAS Soccer Park. Mars Hill's Mike Owens was named SAC Men's Coach of the Year for a seventh straight season. The 2002 Conference Women's Coach of the Year is rookie skipper Whitney Lee of Carson-Newman, earning the award for the first time in his career. 2002 South Atlantic Conference Cross Country Championships Saturday, October, 26, 2002 Greene Valley Development Center Greeneville, Tennessee SAC Men's Results 1. Mars Hill 32, 2. CATAWBA 79, 3. Carson-Newman 81, 4. Lenoir-Rhyne 101, 5. Wingate 123, 6. Presbyterian 161, 7. Tusculum 173, 8. Newberry 181 SAC Men's Runner of the Year: Ryan Willis, Catawba SAC Men's Freshman of the Year: Ryan Willis, Catawba SAC Men's Coach of the Year: Mike Owens, Mars Hill First Team All-Conference Ryan Willis, CATAWBA Craig Eckstein, Mars Hill Nolan Winters, Lenoir-Rhyne Jesse Howes, CATAWBA Rocky Oakes, Mars Hill James Thompson, Mars Hill Adam Stewart, Lenoir-Rhyne Second Team All-Conference John Miklas, Carson-Newman Daniel Amick, Mars Hill Tim Townsend, Mars Hill Chris Rischke, Mars Hill Steven Pearce, Mars Hill Ross Lewis, Tusculum Corey Simons, Mars Hill Catawba Individuals 1. Ryan Willis, 27:31 4. Jesse Howes, 28:14 21. Justin Garzone, 29:48 29. Steve Stamper, 30:53 39. Trey McNamee, 32:01 46. Chad Horn, 32:35 49. Chris Slaughter, 32:54 SAC Women's Results 1. Carson-Newman 30, 2. Mars Hill 54, 3. Tusculum 84, 4. CATAWBA 95, 5. Wingate 98, 6. Presbyterian 104, Lenoir-Rhyne DNS, Newberry DNS. SAC Women's Runner of the Year: Stacy Mark, Mars Hill SAC Women's Freshman of the Year: Marquax-Cowan Banker, Carson-Newman SAC Women's Coach of the Year: Whitney Lee, Carson-Newman First Team All-Conference Stacy Mark, Mars Hill Margaux Cowan-Banker, Carson-Newman Jennifer Sauceman, Carson-Newman Tina Schowiak, Carson-Newman Sue Lewis, Tusculum Erin Coulter, Lenoir-Rhyne Amanda Musick, Tusculum Second Team All-Conference Rachel Retalick, Mars Hill Tanith Forester, Presbyterian Jessica Brown, Carson-Newman Lindsay Boldt, Wingate Whitney Heavner, Lenoir-Rhyne Rebecca DeFeo, CATAWBA Edith Taylor, Carson-Newman Catawba Individuals 13. Rebecca DeFeo, 21:34 22. Carol Marquis, 23:03 23. Shannon Dente, 23:26 28. Twanita Jones, 23:43 25. Caitlin Koukal, 23:34 44. Faith Clapp, 27:29 #######

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Cross Country Team Photo