Jankowski Heads Catawba Honorees Receiving Post-Season SAC Baseball Accolades


ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba senior JJ Jankowski (McMurray, PA/Peters Township HS/Miami,OH), the 2012 South Atlantic Conference Co-Pitcher of the Year,  heads the list of post-season SAC honors garnered by members of the Catawba baseball team.  The awards were announced by the conference office on Wednesday afternoon prior to the start of the Food Lion SAC Tournament which begins on Thursday in Forest City, NC.

Joining Jankowski on the All-SAC first team is outfielder Ethan Satterfield (Madison, NC/McMichael HS) and designated hitter Garrett Furr (Gold Hill, NC/Mt. Pleasant HS).  Second team honors went to shortstop Brett Underwood (Greensboro, NC/SW Guilford HS), starting pitcher Nick Lomascolo (Mooresville, NC/Lake Norman HS) and relief pitcher Nate King (Vancouver, WA/Skyview HS/NC State).  Four players were Gold Glove recipients: catcher Greg Lawson (Charlotte, NC/Providence HS), shortstop Underwood, second baseman Julio Zubillaga (China Grove, NC/Carson HS) and outfielder Ryan Bostian (Kannapolis, NC/S. Rowan HS/Montreat).

Jankowski and Tusculum’s Craig Goodman, the No. 1 starters from the conference’s top two teams during the 2012 season, were rewarded by being named co-SAC Pitchers of the Year.  Jankowski, who leads the nation in strikeouts with 114, and Goodman, who leads the SAC with a 1.93 ERA, earned the accolades after going a combined 18-1 entering the SAC Tournament. 

Jankowski currently has a 9-1 mark with a 3.23 ERA and also has a pair of saves.  Over 78 innings on the mound, he has allowed just 64 hits with 22 walks and the 114 strikeouts for a 5.18 strikeouts-to-walks ratio. 

Satterfield, a sophomore, is batting a team-high .424 with 70 hits and a .502 on-base percentage.  He has 10 doubles, four triples and four home runs, driving in 44 runners and scoring 43 times.  He is second on the team with 16 stolen bases.  Furr, a junior, leads the team with 47 RBI.  He has a .328 average, collecting eight doubles and nine home runs which is second on the team. 

Underwood has batted .333 this season while continuing his stellar glove work at shortstop.  The senior has made just eight errors over 184 chances for a .957 fielding percentage.  He has picked up 18 RBI and stolen 11 bases.

Lomascolo, a junior, won all nine of his conference starts and is 9-3 overall this season with a 3.51 ERA.  In his 74 and a third innings he has posted 69 strikeouts.  King has a 2-2 mark with a team-low 2.35 ERA.  The senior lefty has pitched 38 and a third innings and surrendered just 29 hits while posting 31 strikeouts.

Lawson, a senior, has made only three errors behind the plate with only seven passed balls.  He has helped limit the staff to 31 wild pitches on the year and teams have stolen a mere 23 bases in 32 attempts with Lawson catching.  Zubillaga, a sophomore, is fielding at .970 with five errors in 166 chances, while Bostian, a senior, has a dozen outfield assists.

Carson-Newman first baseman Kyle Koeneman was named the league Player of the Year.  He hit .393 with 34 extra-base hits in a standout regular season.  He led the conference with an on-base percentage of .544 and a slugging percentage of .893, finishing second in home runs with 18, second in walks with 44 and sixth in doubles with 16.

Behind Koeneman, Carson-Newman went 24-23 during the regular season and earned the No. 5 seed in the 2012 Food Lion SAC Baseball Championship. 

Brevard second baseman Chad Funkhouser was also named the SAC Freshman of the Year.  He closed the regular season with a .346 batting average and a .425 OBP for the Tornados.    Finally, after leading his team to a SAC regular-season championship and record 24 conference victories, Tusculum’s Doug Jones was named the league’s Coach of the Year.

2012 All-SAC Team

First Team
C - Brett Scarberry, AU
1B - Kyle Koeneman, C-N
2B - Andre Rodriguez, LMU
SS - Joe Horsley, LMU
3B - Cade Stallings, TC
OF - Casey Allison, WU
OF - Joey Belviso, MHC
OF - Ethan Satterfield, CAT
DH - Garrett Furr, CAT
SP - Craig Goodman, TC
SP - JJ Jankowski, CAT
SP - Josh McElwee, NEW
RP - John-Austin Shepard, TC

Second Team
C - Cody Coffman, TC
1B - Coty Pate, MHC
2B - Chad Funkhouser, BC
SS - Brett Underwood, CAT
3B - Jacob Karr, WU
OF - Champ Stuart, BC
OF - Alexi Colon, TC
OF - Dodson McPherson, WU
DH - Carlos Santana, TC
SP - Nick Lomascolo, CAT
SP - Taylor Rakes, TC
SP - Robby Thigpen, C-N
RP - Nate King, CAT

SAC Player of the Year:  Kyle Koeneman, C-N
Co-SAC Pitcher of the Year:  Craig Goodman, TC
Co-SAC Pitcher of the Year:  JJ Jankowski, CAT
SAC Freshman of the Year:  Chad Funkhouser, BC
SAC Coach of the Year:  Doug Jones, TC
SAC Scholar Athlete: Taylor Rakes, TC

2012 SAC Gold Glove Team
C - Christian Christopoulos, BC
C - Greg Lawson, CAT
1B - Tarron Robinson, BC
2B - Julio Zubillaga, CAT
SS - Brett Underwood, CAT
3B - Blake May, AU
OF - Ryan Bostian, CAT
OF - Kevin Rufus, NEW
OF - Cody Baker, LMU
OF - Aaron Guinn, TC
P - Robby Thigpen, C-N

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Baseball Team Photo