Basketball (W)

McPhail and Bully Earn SAC Women's Basketball First Team Honors


ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba junior Antoinette McPhail (Timmonsville, SC/Darlington HS/Paine) and sophomore Chloe Bully (Hannut, BELGIUM) were named to the first team All-South Atlantic Conference Women’s Basketball Team.  It was announced by the league office on Wednesday.

The Catawba duo helped the Lady Indians finish third in the SAC’s regular-season standings.  McPhail was the conference’s third-leading rebounder at 8.4 per game and its 12th-leading scorer at 11.5 per contest.  Bully tied for the league lead in assists at 4.3 per game and finished sixth in scoring average at 14.5 a game.

Anderson guard Alissa Diaz was named the SAC Player of the Year and Brevard guard Tuccoa Brackett claimed Freshman of the Year honors.  Diaz ranked second in the SAC in scoring at 16.8 points per game, leading AU to the program’s first SAC title since joining the conference.  She was the league’s second-best free throw shooter at 85.3-percent and had the seventh-highest field goal percentage at 47.1-percent.  Brackett was fourth in the conference in scoring at 15.2 points per game and fourth in blocked shots at 1.2 per game.

Newberry also had two All-Conference First Team selections - forward Haylee Lepaio and wing Samantha Creed.  Lepaio led the league in scoring at 18.5 points per game and ranked second in rebounding average at 8.8.  Creed, meanwhile, finished third in scoring average at 15.3 and first in free throw shooting at 86.5-percent. 

Lenoir-Rhyne guard Jazmine Charles completed the All-SAC First Team after averaging 11.5 points per game, good for 14th in the conference.  She was also fifth in foul shooting at 77.8-percent. 

Wingate was the only team with multiple selections to the All-Conference Second Team, as forward Chantal Dunbar and guard Janitsha Williams earned spots.  They are joined on the team by Mars Hill forward Armeka Booker, Anderson forward Breonda Shannon, Tusculum guard Breaira Barksdale and Brackett. 

After his team went from an eighth-place predicted finish in the SAC preseason poll to a regular-season conference championship, Anderson’s Jim Brunelli was named the conference’s Coach of the Year.  He becomes the first AU coach to win the award since the school joined the league. 

2012-13 SAC Women’s Basketball Postseason Awards

All-SAC First Team
Alissa Diaz, Anderson (Sr.)*
Haylee Lepaio, Newberry (So.)*
Samantha Creed, Newberry (So.)
Jazmine Charles, Lenoir-Rhyne (So.)
Chloe Bully, Catawba (So.)
Antionette McPhail, Catawba (Jr.)

All-SAC Second Team
Chantal Dunbar, Wingate (Jr.)
Armeka Booker, Mars Hill (So.)
Breonda Shannon, Anderson (Sr.)
Breaira Barksdale, Tusculum (Sr.)
Janitsha Williams, Wingate (Jr.)
Tuccoa Brackett, Brevard (Fr.)

SAC All-Freshman Team
Tuccoa Brackett, Brevard
Tatum Burstrom, Carson-Newman
Morgan McGee, Wingate
Kelsey Espinosa, Mars Hill
Jordan Hiatt, Lenoir-Rhyne

SAC Player of the Year:  Alissa Diaz, Anderson
SAC Freshman of the Year:  Tuccoa Brackett, Brevard
SAC Coach of the Year:  Jim Brunelli, Anderson
SAC Scholar Athlete: Danielle Bongiorno, Lenoir-Rhyne

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Basketball (W) Team Photo