Lacrosse (W)

Six Grab Independent Women's Lacrosse Honors

NEWBERRY, SC -- Catawba had five players selected to the 2013 Division II Independent Women’s Lacrosse Second Team and two named to the All-Freshman Team.  Second team honors went to Meredith Jones (Barnesville, MD/St. John’s Catholic HS) and Chelsey Bauer (Tampa, FL/Plant HS) at attack, Ebony Mills (Harrison, ME/Oxford Hills HS/Mount Ida) at midfield, Jillian O’Connor (Rochester, NY/Irondequoit HS/Monroe CC) at defender and Bethany Davis (Salisbury, MD/Parkside HS) at goalie.  Freshman honors went to Davis and Alyssa Corace (Mahopac, NY/Mahopac HS). 

Jones set a school record with 36 goals this season and added six assists.  The freshman added 26 ground balls, 26 draw controls and caused 13 turnovers.  Bauer, a sophomore, set a record with 11 assists and was third on the team with 27 goals.  She grabbed 15 ground balls and won five draw controls.

Mills, a junior, was second on the squad with 33 goals and led the way with 39 ground balls and 60 draw controls.  She also had a team-high 20 caused turnovers and assisted on six goals.  O’Connor had four goals and an assist on the season.  The senior picked up 22 ground balls, caused a dozen turnovers and had nine draw controls.

Davis played every minute in goal this year, recording 169 saves and posting a 14.07 goals against average.  She had 32 ground balls and caused 17 turnovers.  Corace finished fourth on the team with 19 goals and assisted on two others.  She collected 10 ground balls with five draw controls and four caused turnovers.

Shepherd sophomore Georgia Karr and Florida Southern sophomore Lorianne were named Co-Players of the year.  Karr led her team with 70 points off 38 goals and 32 assists.  She also recorded 22 ground ball pickups and 22 draw controls.  Hoover scored 20 goals out of the midfield and also tallied eight assists, while notching 27 ground ball pickups and 70 draw controls.

Florida Southern also saw head coach Kara Reber named the Kristina Quigley Division II All-Independent Women’s Lacrosse Coach of the Year.  Reber earns coach of the year honors for the second straight year after leading the Mocs to their highest ranking in program history and a 10-2 record with three games remaining.  Newberry’s Carly Marksberry earned Freshman of the Year honors after posting 46 points on 26 goals and 20 assists.  Marksberry recorded 23 ground balls, six draw controls and 12 caused turnovers for the Wolves.

The Division II Independent Women’s Lacrosse awards were voted on by coaches who elected to participate in the selection process.  Schools participating were: Catawba College (NC), Chowan University (NC), Florida Southern College, Lenoir-Rhyne University (NC), Newberry College (SC), Saint Leo University (FL), Shepherd University, (WV) and Young Harris College (GA).

Division II All-Independent Women’s Lacrosse Awards 
First Team
Caitlin Chase, Florida Southern
Carly Marksberry, Newberry
Danielle LaDuca, Florida Southern
Georgia Karr, Shepherd
Lorianne Hoover, Florida Southern
Kerri Ann Barlage, Newberry
Taylor Lincoln, Young Harris
Stephanie Marran, Saint Leo
Alyx Albano, Shepherd
Elise Sanchez, Newberry
Marissa Masello, Florida Southern
Melissa Halstead, Florida Southern
Katie Hammerer, Florida Southern

Second Team
Alix Murray, Saint Leo
Chelsey Bauer, Catawba
Kelsey Eagan, Shepherd
Meredith Jones, Catawba
Ebony Mills, Catawba
Jaclyn Kernohan, Young Harris
Lauren Donovan, Lenoir-Rhyne
Megan Asper, Florida Southern
Nicole Ruane, Shepherd
*two-way tie for final spot
Ivey Franklin, Young Harris
Jessica Torrent, Saint Leo
Jillian O’Connor, Catawba
Kelsey Phelan, Shepherd
Bethany Davis, Catawba

Co-Players of the Year: Georgia Karr, Shepherd and Lorianne Hoover, Florida Southern
Freshman of the Year: Carly Marksberry, Newberry
Kristina Quigley Coach of the Year: Kara Reber, Florida Southern

All-Freshman Team*
Adriea Herndon, Chowan
Alyssa Corace, Catawba
Bethany Davis, Catawba
Carly Marksberry, Newberry
Claire Wach, Lenoir-Rhyne
Erin Phelan, Shepherd
Hunter Morris, Shepherd
Ivey Franklin, Young Harris
Jaclyn Kernohan, Young Harris
Jessica Torrent, Saint Leo
Kristen McGovern, Saint Leo
Morgan Raffaele, Newberry
Paige Leggio, Saint Leo
Taylor Lincoln, Young Harris

Today's Events

Volleyball vs. LENOIR-RHYNE, 7:00Stats


«October 2017»
October 1

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3) 

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3) 

October 2

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4) 

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4) 

Golf (W) @ Myrtle Beach Inv - Day 1 (Ocean Ridge Plantation)

October 3

Golf (W) @ Myrtle Beach Inv - Day 2 (Ocean Ridge Plantation) 14th of 17

Volleyball @ Coker 1-3

October 4

Soccer (W) vs. QUEENS 0-1

Soccer (M) vs. QUEENS 1-1

October 5

Tennis (W) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 7-2

Tennis (M) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 1-8

October 6

Swimming @ Converse Women's Invite (Day 1) 

October 7

Swimming @ Converse Women's Invite (Day 2) 1st of 7

Cross Country @ Hagan Stone Classic W-1st;M-3rd

Football vs. NORTH GREENVILLE 26-20

Volleyball vs. NEWBERRY 2-3

Soccer (W) vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 0-3

Soccer (M) vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 0-3

October 9

Golf (W) in PATSY RENDLEMAN INV - Day 1 (CC of Salisbury)

Golf (M) @ NCAA II Preview - Day 1 (Rock Barn GC)

October 10

Golf (M) @ NCAA II Preview - Day 2 (Rock Barn GC) 9th of 17

Golf (W) in PATSY RENDLEMAN INV - Day 2 (CC of Salisbury) 10th of 17

October 11

Soccer (W) vs. MOUNT OLIVE 3-1

Soccer (M) vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 3-4

October 14

Football vs. WINGATE 24-27

Volleyball @ Anderson 0-3

Soccer (M) @ Anderson 1-2

Soccer (W) @ Anderson 1-2

October 16

Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 1 (Achasta GC)

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 1 (Mimosa Hills CC)

October 17

Golf (M) @ Donald Ross Intercollegiate - Day 2 (Mimosa Hills CC) 11th of 13

Golf (W) @ Lee Ann Noble Memorial - Day 2 (Achasta GC) 12th of 16

Tennis (M) vs. Newberry 1-8

Tennis (W) vs. Newberry 4-5

October 18

Soccer (W) @ Wingate 0-1

Soccer (M) @ Wingate 0-0

October 19

Tennis (W) @ Lenoir-Rhyne 2-7

October 20

Swimming WOMEN vs. UNC WILMINGTON 81-172

Swimming MEN vs. UNC WILMINGTON 91-164

Volleyball vs. MARS HILL 1-3

October 21

Cross Country @ SAC Championships W-4th;M-8th

Volleyball @ Tusculum 0-3

Swimming Men @ Wingate 65-177

Swimming Women at Wingate 56-187

Football @ Tusculum 40-13

Soccer (M) vs. TUSCULUM 1-3

Soccer (W) vs. TUSCULUM 1-2

October 24

Volleyball vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 7 p.m.

October 25

Soccer (W) vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 5 p.m.

Soccer (M) vs. USC AIKEN 7 p.m.

October 27

Swimming Men @ Gardner-Webb 5 p.m.

Volleyball vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL 7 p.m.

October 28

Soccer (W) @ Lincoln Memorial 1 p.m.

Football @ Limestone 1 p.m.

Volleyball vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 2 p.m.

Soccer (M) @ Lincoln Memorial 3:30 p.m.

October 31

Soccer (W) in SAC Tournament (1st Round)

Soccer (M) @ SAC Tournament (1st Round)

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (M) Team Photo