Basketball (M)

Arrington and Little Garner Honorable Mention All-SAC Men's Basketball Honors


ROCK HILL, SC -- Catawba’s Kijuan Arrington (Newport News, VA/Denbigh HS/Henry CC) and Tyrece Little (Greenville, NC/Rose HS) have earned honorable mention All-South Atlantic Conference men’s basketball honors.  The league’s award winners from the 2013-14 regular season were announced by the SAC on Wednesday.

Arrington, a sophomore guard, averaged 14.9 points a game in his first season at Catawba.  He also chipped in with 5.8 rebounds a contest.  He reached double figures in all but five games with a high of 28 coming in an overtime win over Tusculum.

Little, a junior forward, led Catawba in both scoring (15.4 ppg) and rebounding (8.5 rpg) this season.  He also registered a league-high 3.1 blocks per game.  He totaled 11 double-doubles on the year, including a 34 point, 10 rebound performance at Coker.  He currently ranks fourth in the SAC in rebounding.

Lincoln Memorial’s Vincent Bailey was named SAC Player of the Year.  He came just short of averaging 20-and-10 for the regular-season champion Railsplitters, finishing with a scoring average of 21.6 points per game and a rebounding mark of 9.8 per game.

Accompanying Bailey on the All-SAC First Team are Carson-Newman forward Antoine Davis and guard Ishmael Sanders, Anderson guard Chandler Hash, Newberry forward Dondray Walker and Queens guard Jarrett Stokes.

Sanders finished fourth in the SAC in scoring at 19.7 points per game, led the conference in steals at two per game, and led the conference and ranked eighth in the nation in free-throw shooting at 91-percent. Davis – last year’s SAC Player of the Year – ranked fifth in the league in scoring at 19.5 points per game along with averaging six rebounds and three assists per contest.

Hash was the conference leader and ranked fourth in the nation in scoring, averaging 24.1 points per game. He also made 108 threes during the regular season – third-most in the country – and his 230 free throw attempts were Division II’s 10th-most.

Stokes ranked seventh in the SAC in scoring at 18.3 points per game and also placed in the conference’s top 10 in free throw shooting, three pointers and steals. Walker, meanwhile, was the SAC’s second-best three-point shooter at 47.7-percent and finished 10th in scoring at 16.8 points per game.

Five of the six spots on the All-SAC Second Team were claimed by guards, as LMU’s Lorenza Ross and Chance Jones, Lenoir-Rhyne’s R.J. McClure, Wingate’s Ryan Daye and Anderson’s C.J. Gleaton earned selections. Wingate’s Deion Turman was voted as the team’s lone forward.

Earning All-SAC Honorable Mention accolades were Coker guard Julian Nelson, Brevard forward Darius Moose, Newberry guard Demarkus Smith and Queens forward Josh Clyburn joining Arrington and Little.

Additionally, Wingate forward Isiah Cureton, LMU guard Luquon Choice, Brevard guard Trevon Shaw, Wingate forward Josh Dominguez and Newberry guard Gerald Evans were voted to the SAC All-Freshman Team.

Cureton was named the SAC Freshman of the Year after averaging 9.3 points and 6.6 rebounds per game this season for the Bulldogs.

Finally, LMU’s Josh Schertz was selected as the SAC Coach of the Year after leading the Railsplitters to a 24-2 record and their third conference title in four seasons. Schertz earns Coach of the Year honors for the second time in his career, with the first coming in 2010-11.

2013-14 SAC Men’s Basketball Awards

SAC Player of the Year: Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial
SAC Freshman of the Year: Isiah Cureton, Wingate
SAC Coach of the Year: Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial

All-SAC First Team
Vincent Bailey, Lincoln Memorial
Antoine Davis, Carson-Newman
Chandler Hash, Anderson
Dondray Walker, Newberry
Ishmael Sanders, Carson-Newman
Jarrett Stokes, Queens

All-SAC Second Team
Lorenza Ross, Lincoln Memorial
R.J. McClure, Lenoir-Rhyne
Deion Turman, Wingate
Ryan Daye, Wingate
C.J. Gleaton, Anderson
Chance Jones, Lincoln Memorial

All-SAC Honorable Mention
Julian Nelson, Coker
Darius Moose, Brevard
Tyrece Little, Catawba
Demarkus Smith, Newberry
Josh Clyburn, Queens
Kijuan Arrington, Catawba

SAC All-Freshman Team
Isiah Cureton, Wingate
Luquon Choice, Lincoln Memorial
Trevon Shaw, Brevard
Josh Dominguez, Wingate
Gerald Evans, Newberry

Today's Events

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 4), Video


«December 2018»
December 1

Basketball (W) vs. TUSCULUM 64-51

Basketball (M) vs. TUSCULUM 83-79

December 2

Track/Field @ JDL Early Bird Duels

December 4

Basketball (M) @ Elizabeth City St. 68-51

December 5

Basketball (W) vs. LIVINGSTONE 83-57

December 15

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 1) 

Basketball (W) vs. MARS HILL 94-56

Basketball (M) vs. MARS HILL 96-86

December 16

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 2)

December 17

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 3)

December 18

Swimming @ Spartan Invite (Day 4) 

December 19

Basketball (W) @ Wingate 2 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ Wingate 4 p.m.

December 31

Basketball (W) vs. BELMONT ABBEY 2 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ St. Augustine's 2 p.m.

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Basketball (M) Team Photo