Lacrosse (M)

Scheich and Mason Highlight Men's Lacrosse All-SAC Honorees


ROCK HILL, SC -- Seniors John Scheich (Waxhaw, NC/Weddington HS) and Gage Mason (Apex, NC/Apex HS) headline Catawba's All-South Atlantic Conference award winners in men's lacrosse as announced by the league office on Wednesday.  Scheich, at attack, and Mason, as a defender, earned first team honors, while senior Hartland Jones (Raleigh, NC/Ravenscroft HS) was named second team at long-stick middie.  Senior defender Shea Fadel (Charlotte, NC/S. Mecklenburg HS) and junior face-off specialist Daniel Rew (Forest Hill, MD/Bel Air HS) claimed honorable mention honors.

Scheich ranks top 10 in the SAC in both goals (24-10th) and assists (19-8th), leading Catawba in both categories.  His 43 total points rank sixth in the league.  Scheich has added 23 ground balls and caused four turnovers.  Mason ranks second in the SAC with 22 caused turnovers.  He has started all 13 games and has added 19 ground balls.  Jones has also caused 22 turnovers and picked up 29 ground balls.

Fadel has caused 11 turnoves in his 13 starts, while picking up 24 ground balls.  Rew has won nearly 57% of his face-off attempts (84-148), ranking third in the SAC among those attempting at least 100.  He has scored four goals and stands fourth in the conference with a team-high 55 ground balls.

Queens attack Garrett Chan has been voted as the SAC Men's Lacrosse Player of the Year from the sport's inaugural season in the conference.  Chan's 35 goals during the regular season were third-most in the SAC, and his 62 shots-on-goal led the league. He scored goals in all but one match this season, helping guide the Royals to a 6-1 SAC record and a share of the conference title.

Wingate's Austin Murphy was selected as the conference's Freshman of the Year after leading the league with 60 total points.  After their teams split the SAC regular-season championship, Queens' Jim Fritz and Lenoir-Rhyne's Greg Paradine were chosen as the conference's co-Coaches of the Year.
All-SAC First Team
A- Garrett Chan, Queens
A- John Scheich, Catawba
A- Jimmy McBride, Mars Hill
MF- Evan Farkas, Queens
MF- Anthony Malcolm, Mars Hill
MF- Sam Ashton, Lenoir-Rhyne
Long Pole MF- Tim Cloud, Queens
D- Patrick Murphy, Queens
D- Stephen O'Hara, Lenoir-Rhyne
D- Gage Mason, Catawba
D- Patrick Thomas, Queens
Spec.- Kenneth Stryker, Queens
GK- Eric Dolan, Queens
All-SAC Second Team
A- Austin Murphy, Wingate
A- Jay Goldsmith, Lenoir-Rhyne
A- Casey Hock, Queens
MF- Mike Martiello, Coker
MF- Ryan Sage, Mars Hill
MF- Cory Schumacher, Wingate
MF- Imari Davis, Lenoir-Rhyne
Long Pole MF- Hartland Jones, Catawba
D- Zach Gregg, Mars Hill
D- Mitch Chapman, Tusculum
Spec.- Bryce Sneed, Wingate
GK- Patrick McMahon, Mars Hill
All-SAC Honorable Mention
A- Andy Campos, Coker
A- Ryan Maurer, Coker
A- Adam Zulak, Mars Hill
MF- Tyler Kotch, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF- Chase Watts, Wingate
D- Dylan Marks, Coker
D- Shea Fadel, Catawba
D- Drew Thompson, Wingate
Spec.- Daniel Rew, Catawba
GK- Alex Squires, Lenoir-Rhyne
2014 SAC Men's Lacrosse Awards
SAC Player of the Year: Garrett Chan, Queens
SAC Freshman of the Year: Austin Murphy, Wingate
Co-SAC Coaches of the Year: Jim Fritz, Queens/Greg Paradine, Lenoir-Rhyne

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Lacrosse (M) Team Photo