Brooks Lands on Daktronics and NCBWA All-America Teams; McClintock Earns Honorable Mention Honors


Catawba College’s Craig Brooks (Monroe, NC/Parkwood HS) has earned All-America honors from both Daktronics and the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association.  The junior pitcher was a second team pick on the Daktronics team and a third team selection by the NCBWA.  Ryan McClintock (Matthews, NC/Providence HS) earned honorable mention honors from the NCBWA.

 Brooks, the consensus Southeast Region Pitcher of the Year, completed a 12-3 season with a 2.32 ERA.  He is currently tied with Lander’s Dylan Wolchik for the most wins in NCAA II. His 12 wins were just one shy of the Catawba school record for a single season.

 Over 89 and a third innings, Brooks allowed just 57 hits and posted 104 strikeouts.  His 5.74 hits per nine innings ranks 10th in NCAA II and he currently stands eighth in total strikeouts.  Brooks fanned 10.48 batters per nine innings which is 23rd best in the nation and his 104 strikeouts was the seventh most in a season by a Catawba pitcher.

 Brooks is one of eight finalists for the Brett Tomko Division II Pitcher of the Year Award which will be named on Monday.

 McClintock recorded eight saves for Catawba this season in 33 appearances.  He posted a 4-0 record and a 2.20 ERA.  Over his 41 innings, McClintock allowed 48 hits with 10 walks and 32 strikeouts. 

 The senior set a school record with 33 appearances this year and his 83 in a career is the fifth most all-time.  McClintock saved 15 games in his career, tying for second most by a Catawba reliever and his 2.73 career ERA is 14th lowest by pitchers who have thrown at least 80 innings.

2014 Daktronics NCAA Division II Baseball All-America Teams

Ron Lenz Pitcher of the Year: Dan Altavilla, Mercyhurst University (Pa.)
Ron Lenz Player of the Year: Giancarlo Brugnoni, Grand Valley State University (Mich.)

C - Nolan Johnson, Jr. Minnesota State
1B - Giancarlo Brugnoni, Sr. Grand Valley State
2B - Daniel Fraga, Sr. North Carolina-Pembroke
3B - Tony Viger, Sr. Augustana (SD)
SS - Will Kengor, Sr. Slippery Rock
OF - Austin Kaiser, Sr. Colorado Mesa
OF - Jamie Potts, Jr. Grand Valley State
OF - Nick Thimesch, Sr. Drury
DH - Wes Koenig, Sr. St. Edward’s
UT/non-P - Kyle Dalton, Jr. Concordia-St. Paul
UT/P - Kye Winter, Sr. Augustana (SD)
SP - Dan Altavilla, Jr. Mercyhurst
SP - Tyler Badamo, Sr. Dowling
SP - Jason Hoppe, Sr. Minnesota State
SP - Jordan DeLorenzo, Jr. West Florida
RP - Ben Criscuolo, Fr. Southern New Hampshire

C - Steve Hazel, Jr. Georgia College
1B - Joey Miller, Sr. Concord
2B - Logan Knox, Jr. Regis
3B - Frank Crinella, So. Merrimack
SS - Erik Lunde, Sr. Lander
OF - Bret Blevins, Sr. Concord
OF - Chris Knott, Sr. East Stroudsburg
OF - Brandon Reitano, Sr. Mount Olive
DH - Stephen Dezzi, Jr. Tampa
UT/non-P – Richard Mejia, Sr. Adelphi
UT/P - Frank Samiuk, Jr. Wilmington
SP - Craig Brooks, Jr. Catawba
SP - Brannon Easterling, Sr. St. Edward’s
SP - Paul Hvozdovic, Sr. Shepherd
SP - Preston Packrall, Sr. Tampa
RP - Jesse Cooper, So. Seton Hill

C - Spencer Wolfe, Jr. Shepherd
1B - Connor Lewis, Sr. Lander
2B - Kevin Zak, Jr. Grand Valley State
3B - Tyler Ding, Sr. Tampa
SS - Todd Standish, Sr. Minnesota State
OF - Michael Danner, Sr. Tampa
OF - Patrick Grady, Sr. Lander
OF - Ivan Vieitez, Jr. Lenoir-Rhyne
DH - Nico Delerme, Sr. East Stroudsburg
UT/non-P- Zach Stone, Sr. Millersville
UT/P - Troy Cruz, So. UC-San Diego
SP - Nick Baker, Sr. Cal. State-Chico
SP - Will Landsheft, Sr. Drury
SP - Trevor Oaks, So. California Baptist
SP - Jamie Tremi, Jr. Wilmington
RP - Reese Gregory, So. St. Cloud State

Sal Giardina (C, Lynn); Stetson Olson (1B, Minnesota State); Jake Peterson (2B, Augustana, SD); Ryan Cranmer (3B, Newberry); Tony Piazza (3B, Regis); Brody Miller (SS, Montana State-Billings); Michael Lott (OF, Shepherd); Cody Robinson (OF, Northeastern State); Brad Wilson (OF, Central Missouri); Patrick Rients (DH, Southwest Minnesota State); Alex DeBellis (UT/non-P, Lynn); Taylor Taska (UT/P, Texas A&M-Kingsville); Jonathon Wandling (UT/P, Southern Indiana); George Asmus (SP, Sonoma State); David Heintz (SP, Tampa); Brad Lohse (SP, Cal. State-Chico); Chris Murphy (SP, Millersville); Luke Barker (RP, Cal. State-Chico); Bill Mendek (RP, Lynn)

2014 NCBWA All-America Team

Player of the Year: Austin Kaiser, Colorado Mesa
Pitcher of the Year: Jordan DeLorenzo, West Florida
Coach of the Year: Joe Urso, Tampa

C - Steve Hazel, Georgia College, Jr. 
1B - Giancarlo Brugnoni, Grand Valley State, Sr.
2B - Logan Knox, Regis, Jr. 
3B - Tony Viger, Augustana (SD), Sr.
SS - Phillip Wilson, Central Oklahoma, Sr.
OF - Austin Kaiser, Colorado Mesa, Sr.
OF - Brandon Reitano, Mount Olive, Sr.
OF - Nick Thimesch, Drury, Sr.
DH - Wes Koenig, St. Edward’s, Sr.
UT - Jack Goihl, Augustana (SD), Jr.
SP - Dan Altavilla, Mercyhurst, Jr.
SP - Jordan DeLorenzo, West Florida, Jr.
SP - Brannon Easterling, St. Edward’s, Sr.
RP - Benjamin Criscuolo, Southern New Hampshire, Fr.

C - Wigberto Nevarez, Lubbock Christian, Sr.
1B - Connor Lewis, Lander, Sr.
2B - Daniel Fraga, UNC Pembroke, Sr.
3B - Joel Lutz Lubbock, Christian, Sr.
SS - Erik Lunde, Lander, Sr.
OF - Jacob Campbell, Albany State, Sr.
OF - Patrick Grady, Lander, Sr.
OF - Cody Robinson, Northeastern State, Sr.
DH - Patrick Rients, SW Minnesota State, Jr.
UT - Brandon Wilson, Lubbock Christian, Sr.
SP - Tyler Badamo, Dowling, Sr.
SP - Trevor Oaks, California Baptist, So.
SP - Preston Packrall, Tampa, Sr.
RP - Luke Barker, Chico State, Jr.

C - Spencer Wolfe, Shepherd, Jr.
1B - Joey Miller, Concord, Sr.
2B - Brody Miller, Montana St.-Billings, Jr.
3B - Frank Crinella, Merrimack, So.
SS - Will Kengor, Slippery Rock, Sr.
OF - Tyler Adams, Upper Iowa, Sr.
OF - Josh Coker, Lincoln Memorial, Sr.
OF - Jamie Potts, Grand Valley State, Jr.
DH - Nico Delerme, East Stroudsburg, Sr.
UT - Zach Stone, Millersville, Sr.
SP - Craig Brooks, Catawba, Jr.
SP - Jason Hoppe, Minnesota State, Sr.
SP - Paul Hvozdovic, Shepherd, Sr.
RP - Reese Gregory, St. Cloud State, So.

Catcher-Sal Giardina, Lynn; Nolan Johnson-Minnesota State; Alex Ritchie, Indianapolis. First Base-Stetson Olson, Minnesota State; Blake Stringer, Oklahoma Chris¬tian. Second Base-Matthew Fears, Valdosta State; Jake Peterson, Augustana (SD); Kevin Zak, Grand Valley State. Third Base-Jordan Edgerton, UNC Pembroke; Wade Kaido, Ashland; Tyler Nordgren, Point Loma Nazarene; Cash Oliver, Tuskegee. Shortstop-Nate Robertson, Colorado Mesa; Cody Slater, Chico State. Outfield-Ben Albano, Lewis; David Armendariz, Cal Poly Pomona; Rich Baerga, St. Thomas Aquinas; Bret Blevins, Concord; Matthew Burks, Eastern New Mexico; Andy Crowley, California Baptist; Michael Danner, Tampa; Chris Knott, East Strousburg; Michael Lott, Shepherd; Tyler McKnight, West Texas A&M; Anthony Pacheco, Nebraska-Kearney; Sheehan Planas-Arteaga, Barry; Ethan Starkel, Central Washington. Designated Hitter-Stephen Dezzi, Tampa; Nick LaFace, UC San Diego; Richard Mejia, Adelphi; Jack Morrow, Young Harris. Utility-Brendan Buckley, New Haven; Troy Cruz, UC San Diego; Dylan Harris, St. Leo; Zach Smith, Erskine. Starting Pitcher-George Asmus, Sonoma State; Ethan Bader, Armstrong Atlantic; Nick Baker, Chico State; Jimmy Gutowski, Eckerd; Dylan James, West Texas A&M; Will Landsheft, Drury; Evan Nietfeldt, Grand Valley State; Rene Solis, St. Mary’s (TX); Jerry Vasto, Felician; Davis Ward, Ouachita Baptist; Dylan Wolchick, Lander. Relief Pitcher-Joshua Falbo, West Virginia State; Dillon Endecott, Oklahoma Christian; Ryan McClintock, Catawba; Bill Mendek, Lynn; Alex Williams, Findlay.
*Honorable mention consists of student-athletes that appeared on more than one ballot, but did not make first, second or third team.

Today's Events

No events scheduled until February 22


«August 2019»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Baseball Team Photo