Basketball (M)

Arrington, Morrison And Taylor Earn SAC Men's Basketball Post-Season Honors

ROCK HILL, S.C. ( -- Catawba’s KJ Arrington (Newport News, Va./Denbigh HS/Henry CC) and Jerrin Morrison (Charlotte, N.C./E. Mecklenburg HS) headlined the Catawba Indians post-season men’s basketball honorees from the South Atlantic Conference.  Arrington was named first team All-SAC, while Morrison was named the league’s Freshman of the Year.

Arrington was second in the SAC in scoring at the end of the regular season, averaging 17.7 points a game.  The junior stood seventh in rebounding (7.8), seventh in three-point shooting (42.1%) and tenth in free throw percentage (82.5%). 

Morrison, who also earned honorable mention all-league honors, received 10 of 11 possible first place votes.  He was tenth in the conference in scoring (15.5), steals (36) and three-point percentage (40.7%).  Among his six 20+ point scoring games was a 39-point effort against Newberry on Nov. 25.

Joining Morrison on the SAC All-Freshman team was Jameel Taylor (Anderson, S.C./Hanna HS).  Taylor was just shy of averaging double figures at 9.9 points a game through the regular season.  He also added 4.8 rebounds and game and was ninth in the SAC in assists (80).  Taylor is shooting 84.8% from the free throw line which is fifth best in the SAC.

Lincoln Memorial guard Lorenza Ross was voted the 2014-15 SAC Men’s Basketball Player of the Year.  In addition, Lincoln Memorial mentor Josh Schertz was tabbed the Coach of the Year.

2015 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Basketball All-Conference Agate

First Team
Lorenza Ross, Lincoln Memorial
Demarkus Smith, Newberry
K.J. Arrington, Catawba
Carson Brooks, Carson-Newman
Luquon Choice, Lincoln Memorial
Darius Moose, Brevard

Second Team
Errick Bethel, Coker
Ryan Daye, Wingate
Rob Lewis, Queens
Sean Morgan, Queens
Chase Mounce, Tusculum
Keenan Peterson, Lincoln Memorial

Honorable Mention
Isaiah Cutherbertson, Mars Hill
Jerrin Morrison, Catawba
Will Perry, Lenoir-Rhyne
Chris Ross, Anderson
Donte Samuels, Coker
Myson Jones, Anderson

Jerrin Morrison, Catawba
Charles Clark, Carson-Newman
Dorian Pinson, Lincoln Memorial
Jameel Taylor, Catawba
Maurice Howard, Anderson (tie)
James Stepp, Newberry (tie)

Player of the Year: Lorenza Ross, Lincoln Memorial
Freshman of the Year: Jerrin Morrison, Catawba
Coach of the Year: Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial

Today's Events

Basketball (M) @ Winston-Salem St., 7:00


«November 2017»
November 1

Volleyball vs. WINSTON-SALEM ST. 1-3

November 3

Swimming @ Emory Invite (Day 1)

Volleyball @ Queens 3-1

November 4

Swimming @ Emory Invite (Day 2) W-3rd;M-3rd

Cross Country @ NCAA II Southeast Regional W-12th;M-16th

Football vs. NEWBERRY 17-13

Volleyball @ Wingate 0-3

November 7

Volleyball vs. COKER 3-0

November 10

Basketball (M) vs. Francis Marion 70-72

Basketball (W) vs. Mount Olive 94-81

November 11

Volleyball @ Newberry 3-0

Football vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 24-20

Basketball (W) vs. Barton 49-58

Basketball (M) @ UNC Pembroke 67-91

November 15

Basketball (W) @ Fayetteville St. 46-69

November 17

Basketball (M) @ Albany State 77-69

November 18

Basketball (W) @ Bowie St. 58-66

November 20

Basketball (W) vs. CHOWAN 75-72

November 21

Basketball (M) @ Winston-Salem St. 7 p.m.

November 24

Basketball (W) @ UNC Wilmington (Exhib.) 4 p.m.

November 29

Basketball (W) @ Queens 6 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ Queens 8 p.m.


Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Basketball (M) Team Photo