Lacrosse (M)

Rew Heads List of Four Named to Men's Lacrosse All-SAC Teams


ROCK HILL, S.C. -- Catawba senior Daniel Rew ((Forest Hill, Md./Bel Air HS) was named first team specialist on the 2015 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Lacrosse Teams.  It was announced on Tuesday by the conference.  Senior defender Jacob Breig (Greenfield, Minn./Delano HS) was a second team pick.  Junior Connor Kennedy (Weddington, N.C./Weddington HS/Tampa) and senior Adam Hebert (Charlotte, N.C./Charlotte Catholic HS) earned honorable mention honors.

Rew has been one of the nation’s top face-off men in 2015.  He currently ranks second in NCAA II in winning percentage at 71.7% (124-of-173).  Rew also leads Catawba with 96 ground balls, leading the conference and ranking fourth nationally.  He has also chipped in with five goals and four assists.

Breig missed half of the season with an injury, but has returned to start the last six games.  He has picked up a dozen ground balls and caused three turnovers.

Kennedy, an attack, leads the team with 27 goals and 13 assists on the season.  He has grabbed 17 ground balls and caused a pair of turnovers.  He has two game-winners, including one in overtime to beat #11 Pfeiffer.  Hebert, a middie, has scored 14 goals for Catawba this season and handed out seven assists.  He has 15 ground balls and four caused turnovers.

2015 Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference Teams
First Team
A- Jimmy McBride, Mars Hill
A- Ned Kaish, Lenoir-Rhyne
A- Casey Hock, Queens
MF- Evan Farkas, Queens
MF- Anthony Malcom, Mars Hill
MF- Josh Smith, Coker
LSM- Tim Cloud, Queens
D- Stephen O'Hara, Lenoir-Rhyne
D- Dylan Marks, Coker
D- Patrick Thomas, Queens (tie)
D- Drew Thompson, Wingate (tie)
Spec.- Daniel Rew, Catawba
GK- Jack Grinewich, Mars Hill

Second Team
A- Austin Murphy, Wingate
A- Adam Wiedemann, Brevard
A- Garrett Chan, Queens
MF- Ryan Sage, Mars Hill
MF- Jon Hanlon, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF- Mike Martiello, Coker
LSM- Collin Lett, Lenoir-Rhyne
D- Mike Dorcy, Lenoir-Rhyne
D- Jacob Breig, Catawba
Spec.- Jonathan Paige, Queens
GK- Tim Ryan, Coker

Honorable Mention
A- Jay Goldsmith, Lenoir-Rhyne
A- Connor Kennedy, Catawba
A- Josh Wassum, Coker
A- Tanner Kotch, Wingate
MF- Adam Hebert, Catawba
MF- Nate Wade, Tusculum
MF- Cory Schumacher, Wingate (tie)
MF- Sam Postma, Brevard (tie)
LSM- Robert Godwin, Wingate
D- Mitch Chapman, Tusculum
D- Robert Benjamin, Wingate
D- Ryan Benck, Lincoln Memorial
Spec.- Tyler Botts, Lenoir-Rhyne
GK- Eric Dolan, Queens

Player of the Year: Anthony Malcom, Mars Hill
Freshman of the Year: Adam Wiedmann, Brevard
Coach of the Year: David Olliver, Coker

Today's Events

Track/Field @ Wake Forest Invitational (Day 1),
Swimming Men @ Lenoir-Rhyne, 86-173 L
Swimming Women @ Lenoir-Rhyne, 151-107 W
Basketball (W) vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL, 65-47 WAudioVideoStats
Basketball (M) vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL, 61-90 LAudioVideoStats


«January 2018»
January 3

Basketball (W) @ Lenoir-Rhyne 76-70

Basketball (M) @ Lenoir-Rhyne 63-85

January 5

Swimming MEN vs. ASHLAND 84-117

Swimming WOMEN vs. ASHLAND 102-95

January 6

Swimming Women @ Limestone 103-142

Swimming Men @ Limestone 104-136

Basketball (W) @ Carson-Newman 60-88

Basketball (M) @ Carson-Newman 75-101

January 10

Basketball (W) vs. COKER 55-52

Basketball (M) vs. COKER 77-71

January 12

Swimming WOMEN vs. BARTON 141-90

Swimming MEN vs. BARTON 131-89

January 13

Basketball (W) vs. MARS HILL  80-56

Basketball (M) vs. MARS HILL 83-68

January 18

Basketball (W) vs. NEWBERRY 65-73

Basketball (M) vs. NEWBERRY 87-92

January 20

Track/Field @ Wake Forest Invitational (Day 1) 

Swimming Men @ Lenoir-Rhyne 86-173

Swimming Women @ Lenoir-Rhyne 151-107

Basketball (W) vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL 65-47

Basketball (M) vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL 61-90

January 21

Track/Field @ Wake Forest Invitational (Day 2)

January 24

Basketball (W) vs. QUEENS 6 p.m.

Basketball (M) vs. QUEENS 8 p.m.

January 26

Track/Field @ Finn Pincus Invitational (Day 1)

January 27

Track/Field @ Finn Pincus Invitational (Day 2)

Basketball (W) @ Tusuclum 2 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ Tusculum 4 p.m.

January 31

Basketball (W) @ Wingate 6 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ Wingate 8 p.m.

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Basketball (M) Team Photo