Lacrosse (W)

Scott Named SAC Women's Lacrosse Freshman of the Year


ROCK HILL, S.C. -- Seven Catawba players were named to the 2015 All-South Atlantic Conference Women’s Lacrosse Teams on Tuesday, while Hannah Scott (Centreville, Md./Queen Anne’s Co. HS) was named the Freshman of the Year.  Juniors Alyssa Corace (Mahopac, N.Y./Mahopac HS), Kourtney Jones (Mooresville, N.C./Lake Norman HS) and Bethany Davis (Salisbury, Md./Parkside HS) were first team selections for the Lady Indians.

Scott, a second team selection in the midfield, claims the first major award for Catawba in women’s lacrosse from the SAC.  She has scored 14 goals with six assists on the season and also helped cause a team-leading 25 turnovers.  Scott stands second on the team with 54 draw controls and 49 ground balls.

Corace, an attack, is second on the team with 39 goals and has handed out 14 assists.  She has won 11 draw controls with 18 ground balls and five caused turnovers.  Jones, a defender, leads the team with 68 draw control wins and 52 ground balls.  She shares the team lead with 25 caused turnovers and has added 15 goals and five assists.  Davis has posted 146 saves with a .345 save percentage and a 15.1 goals against average.

Joining Scott on the second team is freshman attack Caroline Beggs (St. Johns, Fla./Bartram Trail HS) and junior attack Meredith Jones (Barnesville, Md./St. John’s Catholic HS).  Beggs has set a school record with 45 goals on the season and has picked up 17 assists.  She has 25 ground balls, three caused turnovers and four draw controls.  Jones has scored 24 goals with a team-high 21 assists on the year.  She has won 21 draw controls with 14 ground balls and nine caused turnovers.

Sophomore mid Nicolette Salay (Columbus, N.J./N. Burlington Regional HS) collected honorable mention honors.  Over 16 games she has tallied 22 goals with five assists.  Salay has caused 17 turnovers with 16 draw controls and 36 ground balls.

2015 Women’s Lacrosse All-Conference Teams
First Team
A- Jena Ready, Queens
A- Abigail Paulus, Queens
A– Alyssa Corace, Catawba
A- Jessica Baxtrom, Newberry
MF- Lauren Donovan, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF- Kelsey Crow, Tusculum
MF- Brittany Larranaga, Queens
MF- Kelly Dowd, Queens
D- Bridgette Larranga, Queens
D- Kourtney Jones, Catawba
D- Aarika Kaester, Queens
D- Marabeth Durden, Coker (tie)
D- Morgan Insel, Wingate (tie)
GK- Bethany Davis

Second Team
A- Caroline Beggs, Catawba
A- Cheyenne Bray, Tusculum
A- Maggie Masters, Queens
A- Meredith Jones, Catawba
MF- Hannah Scott, Catawba
MF- Claire Wach, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF- Erin Murphy, Wingate
MF- Brittany Andrews, Wingate
D- Brittany Christian, Lenoir-Rhyne
D- Katie Thompson, Newberry
D- Jamie Ryan, Lenoir-Rhyne
GK- Danielle Horoschak, Queens

Honorable Mention
A- Aubriana Benedetto, Lenoir-Rhyne
A- Haley McCusker, Coker
A- Caitlyn Nemeth, Brevard
A- Danielle Holcomb, Coker
MF- Claudia Jenkins, Coker
MF- Mackenzie Baker, Coker
MF- Nicolette Salay, Catawba
MF- Madison Malone, Tusculum
D- Sydney Dishman, Queens
D- Taylor Winters, Lenoir-Rhyne
D- McKenzie Edds, Lincoln Memorial
D- Emily Kessler, Lenoir-Rhyne
GK- Brooke Wagner, Tusculum

Player of the Year: Lauren Donovan, Lenoir-Rhyne
Freshman of the Year: Hannah Scott, Catawba
Coach of the Year: Jenna Handshoe, Tusculum

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Lacrosse (W) Team Photo