Tennis (M)

Hoover Named Second Team All-South Atlantic Conference


ROCK HILL, S.C. ( -- Catawba’s Pierce Hoover was honored with a 2015 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Tennis Second Team All-Conference selection. Tusculum senior Lukas Winkelmann was voted the 2015 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Tennis Player of the Year, while Amir Zari of Wingate was voted the League’s Freshman of the Year.  In addition, Wingate mentor Michael Cabana was tabbed the Coach of the Year, the League announced today.

Hoover, a junior from Durham, N.C.,  arned his place on the all-conference team with a 15-9 record at the #1 position, included a 5-6 record in the South Atlantic Conference. The mark proved a significant improvement from his 2013-14 campaign when he went 7-18 overall.

Winkelmann, a senior from Böblingen, Germany, became the only player in South Atlantic Conference men’s tennis history to earn Player of the Year honors three times in his career after finishing the season 17-0 overall and 11-0 in SAC play.  He is currently riding a 50-match regular season singles winning streak as he is ranked No. 10 in the International Tennis Association National Singles Rankings.  Winkelmann posted wins over regionally ranked opponents this season and was named the League’s Player of the Week on March 16.

Zari, a No. 2 flight player from Jerusalem, Israel, turned in an 11-7 overall record and an 8-3 mark in South Atlantic Conference play this season.  He posted six wins at the No. 2 flight, two wins at No. 3 and secured a win at the No. 1 flight on the year.  Paired with doubles partner Connor Kudrick, the duo is 7-4 overall and 7-2 in Conference action.

Cabana led his Bulldogs to their fifth overall and second-straight regular season title after finishing the season 13-5 overall and 10-1 in League play.  The award marks his fifth Coach of the Year plaudit of his career.

Joining Winkelmann on the First Team singles squad were Per-Erik Soler from Queens, Euquerio Guerrero of Mars Hill, Marvin Mueller from Lenoir-Rhyne, Anderson’s Juan Carracedo and Nic Planchard from Tusculum.

The First-Team doubles honorees were Lukas Winkleman and Jonas Winkelman from Tusculum, Soler and Jules Athalis of Queens and Newberry’s Fernando Espana and Fernado Tous.

2015 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Tennis Yearly Honors

First Team Singles
Lukas Winkelmann, Tusculum
Per-Erik Soler, Queens
Euquerio Guerrero, Mars Hill
Marvin Mueller, Lenoir-Rhyne
Juan Carracedo, Anderson
Nic Planchard, Tusculum

Second Team Singles
Sebastian Hall, Wingate
Jules Athalis, Queens
William Marrafao, Coker
Connor Kudrick, Wingate
Pierce Hoover, Catawba
Robin Hochguertel, Lenoir-Rhyne

Honorable Mention Singles
Fernando Tous, Newberry
Patrick Bauer, Lenoir-Rhyne
Amir Zari, Wingate
Jonas Winkelmann, Tusculum
Mark Watt, Coker
Filippo Pezzoli, Wingate

First Team Doubles
Lukas Winkelmann/Jonas Winkelmann, Tusculum
Per-Erik Soler/Jules Athalis, Queens
Fernando Espana/Fernando Tous, Newberry

Second Team Doubles
Patrick Bauer/Marvin Mueller, Lenoir-Rhyne
Amir Zari/Connor Kudrick, Wingate
Juan Carracedo/Mateo Rivas, Anderson

Honorable Mention Doubles
Will Roberson/Jules Athlais, Queens
Jordan Monosky/Angel Pizarro, Newberry
Leon Seiz/Tashique Kader, Tusculum

Player of the Year: Lukas Winkelmann, Tusculum
Freshman of the Year: Amir Zari, Wingate
Coach of the Year: Michael Cabana, Wingate

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Tennis (M) Team Photo