Golf (M)

Hardman Shoots His Way To First Team All-SAC Men's Golf Honors


ROCK HILL, S.C. ( -- Catawba senior Matt Hardman (Gettysburg, Pa./Gettysburg HS) has been named to the 2015 All-South Atlantic Conference Men’s Golf Team.  Hardman grabbed first team honors as announced on Thursday by the league office.

Hardman has posted a 73.8 stroke average to lead Catawba entering the SAC Championships.  The senior has played 15 rounds and had a runner-up finish just two weeks ago at the Tennessee River Rumble.  Hardman had a third place finish in the fall at the Tusculum Fall Classic and was fourth at the Anderson Invitational. 

Lincoln Memorial’s Braden Galyon was voted the Men’s Golfer of the Year, while Filip Andersson from Mars Hill was named the Conference’s Freshman of the Year.  In addition, Wingate mentor Corey Iacofano was tabbed the Coach of the Year, the League announced today.

Galyon, a senior from Powell, Tenn., currently ranks No. 2 in the nation with an average vs. par of -0.24 and is No. 3 in Division II with a raw stroke average of 71.57.  He highlighted his season with medalist honors at the State Farm Intercollege as he turned in a score of -10, including a Woodlake Golf Course-record and career-best 8-under 64 in the opening round.  He posted six top-five finishes on the year and finished in the top 10 on seven occasions.  Galyon also won the Tennessee River Rumble as he fired scores of 70 and 73 at the Tennessee National Golf Club to finish at 1-under.  The award marks the third-straight year a player from Lincoln Memorial has won the honor.

Andersson, from Uppsala, Sweden, posted a pair of top 10 finishes on the year and finished the regular-season with an adjusted scoring average of 74.81.  His best finish of the season came at the Hargett Memorial Invitational as he turned in scores of 73, 72 and 73 to finish third overall at two over par.  Andersson also fired a season-best 69 in the second round of the Tusculum Invitational.  His Freshman of the Year award is the second-straight honor for Mars Hill.

Iacofano’s award is his second Coach of the Year honor of his career as he earned the award during the 2012 season.  The Bulldogs are currently tops in the South Atlantic Conference with a GolfStat Ranking of No. 19 in the nation.

Tusculum’s Brad Hawkins, Benedict Gebhardt of Wingate, Charles Hartzog from Mars Hill, and Wingate’s Tyler Stone joined Galyon and Hardman on the list of First-Team All-South Atlantic Conference honorees.  Hawkins finished the 2015 regular season with an adjusted stroke average of 71.76, while Gebhardt posted an adjusted scoring average of 72.26 on the year.  Hartzog turned in an adjusted scoring average of 73.33.  Hardman and Stone completed the 2015 campaign with identical adjusted stroke averages of 73.63

The 2015 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Golf Championship is slated for Sunday, April 19 through Monday, April 21.  Tee times will begin at 8:30am on all three days and will be contested at the Firethorne Golf Club in Marvin, N.C.

2015 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Golf All-Conference Teams

First Team
Brad Hawkins, Tusculum
Braden Galyon, Lincoln Memorial
Benedict Gebhardt, Wingate
Charles Hartzog, Mars Hill
Matt Hardman, Catawba (tie)
Tyler Stone, Wingate (tie)

Second Team
Will Bundy, Coker
Rand Wasson, Lincoln Memorial
Tommy Hurst, Newberry
Adam Lumley, Mars Hill

Honorable Mention
Ryan Wilkinson, Newberry
Connor Froning, Lincoln Memorial
Luis Vega, Brevard
Phillip Konnikov, Wingate
Jake McLaren, Queens

Golfer of the Year: Braden Galyon, Lincoln Memorial
Freshman of the Year: Filip Andersson, Mars Hill
Coach of the Year: Corey Iacofano, Wingate

Today's Events

Tennis (W) @ North Greenville, 2:00VideoStats
Tennis (M) @ North Greenville, 2:00VideoStats
Volleyball @ Lenoir-Rhyne, 7:00VideoStats


«September 2018»
September 1

Cross Country in CHICK-FIL-A INV. (Salisbury Community Park) M-1st;W-1st

Volleyball @ Florida Southern 1-3

Football @ West Georgia 3-34

Volleyball vs. Wilmington,DE 3-0

Soccer (M) @ Erskine 0-1

September 3

Soccer (W) @ USC Aiken 1-0

September 5

Soccer (M) @ Mount Olive 1-2

September 7

Volleyball vs. Barton 0-3

Volleyball @ Augusta 0-3

Soccer (W) vs. BARTON 1-0

September 8

Tennis (W) @ Wingate Inv. (Day 1) 

Tennis (M) @ Wingate Inv. (Day 1) 

Volleyball vs. West Alabama 0-3

Football @ Winston-Salem State 34-7

Soccer (M) @ USC Aiken 3-0

September 9

Tennis (M) @ Wingate Inv. (Day 2) 

Tennis (W) @ Wingate Inv. (Day 2) 

Soccer (W) vs. FRANCIS MARION 3-1

September 10

Golf (M) @ Coker Inv. - Day 1 (Camden CC) 

Golf (W) @ Anderson Inv. - Day 1 (Cobbs Glen CC) 

September 11

Golf (W) @ Anderson Inv. - Day 2 (Cobbs Glen CC) 2nd of 9

Golf (M) @ Coker Inv. - Day 2 (Camden CC) 13th of 14

Volleyball vs. WINGATE 2-3

September 12

Soccer (W) vs. NEWBERRY 4-1

Soccer (M) vs. NEWBERRY 0-3

September 15

Cross Country @ Winthrop Invitational, ccd. 9 a.m.

Swimming @ SAA Open Water, ccd. 4 p.m.

Football vs. UNC PEMBROKE, ccd. 7 p.m.

September 18

Golf (M) @ Queens Inv. ccd. 

Volleyball @ Queens 3-2

September 19

Soccer (W) @ Queens 1-0

Soccer (M) @ Queens 2-8

September 21

Tennis (W) @ North Greenville 2 p.m.

Tennis (M) @ North Greenville 2 p.m.

Volleyball @ Lenoir-Rhyne 7 p.m.

September 22

Golf (W) @ Lady Brave Inv. - Day 1 (Old South GC)

Soccer (M) vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL 1 p.m.

Football @ Mars Hill 1 p.m.

Volleyball vs. MARS HILL 2 p.m.

Soccer (W) vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL 3:30 p.m.

September 23

Golf (W) @ Lady Brave Inv. - Day 2 (Old South GC)

September 24

Golf (M) @ King Inv. - Day 1 (CC of Bristol)

September 25

Golf (M) @ King Inv. - Day 2 (CC of Bristol)

Volleyball @ Lincoln Memorial 7 p.m.

September 26

Soccer (W) vs. UNC PEMBROKE 5 p.m.

Soccer (M) @ Mars HIll 7 p.m.

September 27

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 1)

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 1)

September 28

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 2)

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 2)

Volleyball vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 7 p.m.

September 29

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3)

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 3)

Cross Country @ USC Upstate Invitational 9 a.m.

Football vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 1:30 p.m.

Soccer (W) @ Tusculum 5 p.m.

Soccer (M) @ Tusculum 7 p.m.

September 30

Tennis (M) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4)

Tennis (W) @ SE ITA Championships (Day 4)

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Tennis (W) Team Photo