Brooks Claims Gold Bat Award as ABCA/Rawlings National Player of Year


GREENSBORO, N.C. -- Catawba College senior Craig Brooks (Monroe, N.C./Parkwood HS) has been named the 2015 ABCA/Rawlings Gold Bat Award winner as the National Player of the Year by the American Baseball Coaches Association.  Brooks was also named the National Pitcher of the Year, while Will Albertson (Sophia, N.C./Randleman HS/Campbell) was named the National Position Player of the Year.
Brooks, a pitcher, who also plays third base, becomes the first Catawba player to earn the ABCA National Player of the Year honor.  Brooks currently sports a 9-1 record with 150 strikeouts and 33 walks in 96 innings pitched this season.  He has limited opponents to a .157 batting average and led the Indians to an appearance in the NCAA Div. II National Finals.

At third base, Brooks has hit for a .305 average with 58 hits, 40 RBI and 47 runs scores.  Among his hits are 15 doubles, two triples and six home runs.

Albertson was named the Position Player of the Year by all three major organizations (ABCA, NCBWA & Daktronics).  The junior catcher is batting .470 with school and conference records of 108 hits, 26 home runs and 90 RBI.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now features nine divisions. The first ABCA NCAA Div. II All-America team was recognized in 1969. Click here for a full archive.

Established in 1945, the ABCA is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 6,600 members represent all 50 states and 23 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, Junior College, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 72nd annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 7-10, 2016 in Nashville, Tennessee.
2015 ABCA/Rawlings Gold Bat Award - National Player of the Year
Craig Brooks, Sr., P, Catawba
2015 ABCA/Rawlings All-America Teams
NCAA Div. II All-America First Team
C - Will Albertson, Jr. Catawba
1B - Ryan Uhl, Sr. Indiana,PA
2B - Stephen James, Sr. Ashland
3B - Nick Sell, Sr. Seton Hill
SS - Paxton DeLaGarza, Jr. Angelo State
INF - Collins Cuthrell, Sr. UNC Pembroke
OF - Adam Urbania, Sr. Slippery Rock
OF - Jason Morozowski, Jr. Mount Olive
OF - Jhalan Jackson, Jr. Florida Southern
OF - Justin Garcia, Jr. Nova Southeastern
DH - Jesse Rall, Jr. Missouri Southern
P - Brendan O'Rourke, Sr. Franklin Pierce
P - Reese Gregory, Jr. St. Cloud State
P - Craig Brooks, Sr. Catawba
P - Ryan Olson, So. Cal Poly Pomona
RP - Nick Vanthillo, Jr. Henderson State
Gold Bat Award - Player of the Year: Craig Brooks, Sr., P, Catawba
Position Player of the Year: Will Albertson, Jr., C, Catawba
Pitcher of the Year: Craig Brooks, Sr., Catawba
NCAA Div. II All-America Second Team
C - Austin Allen, Jr. Florida Tech
1B - Albert Baur, Sr. Newberry
2B - Shane Billings, So. Wingate
3B - Hunter Newman, So. Trevecca Nazarene
SS - Daniel Martin, Jr. Azusa Pacific
INF - Dean Long, Sr. Emporia State
OF - Justin Harris, Sr. Emporia State
OF - Kamran Young, Sr. Cal State Dominguez Hills
OF - Thomas Spitz, Sr. Wingate
OF - Kyle Garlick, Sr. Cal Poly Pomona
DH - Troy Paris, Jr. Kentucky Wesleyan
P - Miles Sheehan, Jr. Franklin Pierce
P - Steve Naemark, Jr. Angelo State
P - Justin Donatella, Jr. UC San Diego
P - Chris Murphy, Sr. Millersville
RP - Tyler Fries, Sr. Wilmington
NCAA Div. II All-America Third Team
C - Michael Jurgella, Sr. St. Cloud State
1B - Tanner Rainey, Sr. West Alabama
2B - Hayden Jones, Jr. Valdosta State
3B - Jay Jabs, So. Franklin Pierce
SS - Brandon Overstreet, Sr. Erskine
INF - Giovanny Alfonzo, Sr. Tampa
INF - Dan Stoltzfus, Jr. Millersville
OF - Mick Fennell, Jr. California,PA
OF - Sam Goines, Sr. Wilmington
OF - Alex Fife, Jr. Colorado Mesa
OF - Chandler Brock, Sr. Alabama Huntsville
OF - Jake Sandlin, Jr. Georgia College
DH - Chris LaVorgna, So. Franklin Pierce
P - Jamie Treml, Sr. Wilmington
P - Matt McClain, Sr. St. Mary's,TX
P - Fernando Gonzalez, Sr. West Alabama
P - Ryan Colegate, Jr. Ohio Dominica
P - Brandon Nagem, Jr. West Florida
RP - Austin Simokaitis, Jr. Missouri-St. Louis

2015 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Div. II Gold Glove Team
NCAA Div. II Gold Glove Team
C - Michael Jurgella, Sr. St. Cloud State
1B - Nick Pate, Jr. Fresno Pacific
2B - Dylan Cook, Jr. Georgia College
3B - Chris Dennis, Sr. Florida Southern
SS - John Ascenzia, Sr. Bridgeport
OF - Casey Scoggins, Jr. Tampa
OF - Jamie Potts, Sr. Grand Valley State
OF - Jason Morozowski, Jr. Mount Olive
P - Collin Sherrod, Jr. St. Edwards,TX
Defensive Player of the Year: Casey Scoggins, Jr., OF, Tampa

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«May 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Baseball Team Photo