Albertson and Richardson Consensus All-Southeast Region Selections


SALISBURY, N.C. -- Catawba seniors Will Albertson (Sophia, N.C./Randleman/Campbell) and Dylan Richardson (Randleman, N.C./Randleman/Appalachian St.) were consensus picks for All-Southeast Region baseball honors.  Albertson was named first team catcher by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA), the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) and the Conference Commissioners Association (CCA), while Richardson claimed second team honors at second base by all three organizations.   Zach Almond (Richfield, N.C./N. Stanly/UNCG) was a second team pick as utility player by the NCBWA and Malachi Hanes (Charlotte, N.C./Butler) was an NCBWA honorable mention at designated hitter.

Albertson led Catawba for the second straight year in batting average (.404), home runs (15) and runs batted in (59).  He started all 55 games, splitting time behind the plate and the outfield.  In addition to his home runs, Albertson collected 17 doubles and a triple among his 91 hits.  He scored a team-best 64 runs.

Richardson enjoyed a solid senior campaign, batting .323 with a dozen home runs and 54 RBI.  He was second on the team with 17 doubles and added four triples.  Richardson tallied 48 runs and swiped eight bases.  The gold glover made just nine errors in 235 chances and helped turn 34 double plays.

Almond split his time at catcher and both corner outfield spots to garner his utility player nod.  He hit .271 on the season, but caught fire after a record-tying eight RBI performance that included a walk off grand slam on March 25 against Mars Hill.  The sophomore hit .330 over his final 24 games, pounding 11 of his 13 home runs over that span.

Hanes finished the season with a .295 average and his 13 home runs were second on the team.  He drove in 50 runs and scored 44 times.  Hanes added 11 doubles and three triples among his 27 extra-base hits.

2016 NCBWA All-Southeast Region Teams

C: Will Alberton, Sr., Catawba (N.C.)
1B: Mike McClellan, Sr., Columbus State (Ga.)
2B: Dylan Cook, Sr., Georgia College
3B: Blake Edwards, Sr., Columbus State (Ga.)
SS: Evan Rogers, Sr., Mars Hill (N.C.)
OF: Shane Billings, Jr., Wingate (N.C.)
OF: Zach Daly, Sr., Lander (S.C.)
OF: Kevin Victoriano, Sr., Tusculum (Tenn.)
DH: Zach Moon, Jr., USC Aiken
Util: Brooks Kennedy, So., Francis Marion (S.C.) N
SP: Vince Apicella, Sr., Carson-Newman (Tenn.)
SP: Placido Torres, Sr., Tusculum (Tenn.)
SP: Dylan Ward, So., Barton (N.C.)
RP: Brandon White, Jr., Lander (S.C.)
ational Collegiate Baseball Writers of America
C: Andrew Webster, Jr., Barton (N.C.)
1B: Taylor Walker, Sr., Montevallo (Ala.)
2B: Dylan Richardson, Sr., Catawba (N.C.)
3B: Brandon Roberts, Sr., Carson-Newman (Tenn.)
SS: Ryan Ihle, Sr., Columbus State (Ga.)
OF: Matthew Miller, Jr., Georgia College
OF: Zak Orrison, Sr., Mount Olive (N.C.)
OF: Ryan Whitt, Sr., King (Tenn.)
DH: Bradley Brown, So., Wingate (N.C.)
Util: Zach Almond, So., Catawba (N.C.)
SP: Ethan Elliott, Fr., Lincoln Memorial (Tenn.)
SP: Will Jones, Sr., Lander (S.C.)
SP: Brandon Koehler, Jr., Columbus State (Ga.)
RP: Cameron Busby, So., Georgia College.

Player of the Year: Dylan Cook, Sr., Georgia College
Pitcher of the Year: Placido Torres, Sr., Tusculum (Tenn.)
Coach of the Year: Greg Appleton, Columbus State (Ga.)

Honorable Mention
P: Brandon Agar, Sr., North Georgia; Tyler Byrnes, Sr., Belmont Abbey (N.C.); Ethan Greene, Sr., Pfeiffer (N.C.); Brighton Hudson, So., Mount Olive (N.C.); Joe Marlow, Sr., USC Aiken; Blake Waldren, So., Belmont Abbey (N.C.); Bruce Zimmerman, Jr., Mount Olive (N.C.).
RP: Kyle Halbohn, Sr., Belmont Abbey (N.C.); Joe Johnson, Sr., Erskine (S.C.); John Leopard, Sr., North Greenville (S.C.).
C: Max Schoen, Sr., USC Aiken.
1B: Colby Lusignan, Sr., Lander (S.C.).
2B: Kolin McMillen, Sr., Flagler (Fla.).
3B: Nick Nunziato, Jr., Belmont Abbey (N.C.).
SS: Colin Rosenbaum, So., Belmont Abbey (N.C.).
OF: Nick Beinlich, Jr., Belmont Abbey (N.C.); Samuel Cothran, Sr., Erskine (S.C.); Bill Krebs, Sr., Wingate (N.C.); Jackson Oliver, Sr., Columbus State (Ga.); Mitchell Price, Jr., USC Aiken.
DH: Thomas Berry, Sr., Lander (S.C.); Malachi Hanes, Jr., Catawba (N.C.); Chris Rave, Jr., Erskine (S.C.).


1B: Mike McClellan, Columbus State, Senior
2B: Dylan Cook, Georgia, Senior
3B: Blake Edwards, Columbus State, Senior
SS: Ryan Ihle, Columbus State, Senior
C: Will Albertson, Catawba, Senior
OF: Shane Billings, Wingate, Senior
OF: Zach Daly, Lander, Senior
OF : Jackson Oliver, Columbus State, Senior
DH: Zach Moon, USC Aiken, Junior
Util: Colby Lusignan, Lander, Senior
SP: Placido Torres, Tusculum, Senior
SP: Vince Apicella, Carson-Newman, Senior
SP: Ethan Elliott, Lincoln Memorial, Freshman
SP: Dylan Ward, Barton, Sophomore
RP: Brandon White, Lander, Junior

1B: Taylor Walker, Montevallo, Senior
2B: Dylan Richardson, Catawba, Senior
3B: Brandon Roberts, Carson-Newman, Senior
SS: Evan Rogers, Mars Hill, Senior
C: Max Schoen, USC Aiken, Senior
OF: Ryan Whitt, King, Senior
OF: Matthew Miller, Georgia College, Senior
OF: Zak Orrison, Mount Olive, Senior
DH: Thomas Berry, Lander, Senior
Util: Brooks Kennedy, Francis Marion, Sophomore
SP: Bruce Zimmer, Mount Olive, Junior
SP: Brandon Koehler, Columbus State, Junior
SP: Will Jones, Lander, Senior
SP: Michael Maiocco, Flagler, Junior
RP: Cameron Busby, Georgia College, Sophomore

Player of the Year: Dylan Cook, Georgia College, Senior 
Pitcher of the Year: Placido Torres, Tusculum, Senior


First Team
C - Will Albertson, Sr., Catawba
1B - Mike McClellan, Sr., Columbus State
2B - Dylan Cook, Sr., Georgia College
3B - Blake Edwards, Sr., Columbus State
SS - Evan Rogers, Sr., Mars Hill
INF - Colby Lusignan, Sr., Lander
OF - Shane Billings, Jr., Wingate
OF - Ryan Whitt, Jr., King
OF - Matthew Miller, Jr., Georgia College
OF - Zak Orrison, Sr., Mount Olive
DH - Zach Moon, Jr., USC Aiken
P - Placido Torres, Sr., Tusculum
P - Dylan Ward, So., Barton
P - Bruce Zimmerman, Jr., Mount Olive
P - Vince Apicella, Sr., Carson-Newman
RP - Brandon White, Jr., Lander

Second Team
C - Andrew Webster, Jr., Barton
1B - Taylor Walker, Sr., Montevallo
2B - Dylan Richardson, Sr., Catawba
3B - Brandon Roberts, Sr., Carson-Newman
SS - Ryan Ihle, Sr., Columbus State
INF - Henry Faunce, Jr., Erskine
OF - Will Winslow, Jr., Coker
OF - Jackson Oliver, Sr., Columbus State
OF - Kevin Victoriano, Sr., Tusculum
OF - Zach Daly, Sr., Lander
DH - Thomas Berry, Sr., Lander
P - Zack Kelly, Jr., Newberry
P - Ethan Elliott, Fr., Lincoln Memorial
P - Will Jones, Sr., Lander
P - Brandon Agar, Sr., North Georgia
RP - Joe Johnson, Sr., Erskine

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Baseball Team Photo