Soccer (M)

Hollenhorst Named Honorable Mention All-SAC For Men's Soccer


ROCK HILL, S.C. ( -- The South Atlantic Conference announced its post-season award winners for men’s soccer on Wednesday and Catawba senior defender Philipp Hollenhorst was named as an honorable mention selection. Lenoir-Rhyne forward Ignacio de Goya was voted the Player of the Year, while Till Neumann of Newberry was voted the  Freshman of the Year.  In addition, Wingate’s Gary Hamill was tabbed the Coach of the Year and Anderson took home the Fair Play Award.

Hollenhorst led Catawba this season with five goals. He picked up those goals on 14 shots with three coming on penalty kicks. The senior helped the squad to a pair of shutouts.
De Goya, a junior from Madrid, Spain, finished the regular season second in the league with 12 goals. Neumann, a freshman from Calden, Germany, found the back the net 13 times to lead the SAC in goals. Hamill guided the Bulldogs to their fourth-straight Championship. 

2017 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Soccer All-Conference Teams and Award Winners
First Team
F – Ignacio de Goya, Lenoir-Rhyne
F – Till Neumann, Newberry
F – Danilo da Silva, Lincoln Memorial
F – Tobias Solem Karlsen, Carson-Newman
MF – Tom Read, Carson-Newman
MF – Florian Simon, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Filipe Checco, Wingate
MF – Victor Cascon, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Damian Gaona, Wingate
D – Sercan Cihan, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Michael Hornsby, Queens
D – Samuel Jenkins, Carson-Newman
GK – Pablo Jara, Wingate
Second Team
F – Edmundo Robinson, Queens
F - Elliot Cutts, Wingate
F – Elma N’For, Wingate
F – Aladdin Elfares, Coker
MF – Henrique Rezek, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Mattia Ditommaso, Wingate
MF – Mateo Correa, Wingate
MF – Cameron Emerson, Anderson
D – Emil Tansinda, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Oscar Mitchell, Mars Hill
D – Christoph Willemsen, Lincoln Memorial
D – Ronaldo de Jesus, Lincoln Memorial
GK – Zach King, Lenoir-Rhyne
Honorable Mention
F – Victor Peres, Lincoln Memorial
F – Thomas Joergsholm, Anderson
F – Ashley Kelynack, Carson-Newman
F – Edgar Cervantes, Tusculum
MF – Tobias Henriksen, Newberry
MF – Fabrizio Bucco, Newberry
MF – Cam Macer, Mars Hill
D – Philipp Hollenhorst, Catawba
D – Jonny Le Quesne, Carson-Newman
D – Josh Calabria, Anderosn
D – Robbie Jenkinson, Coker
GK – Twan Verweij, Carson-Newman
Player of the Year: Ignacio de Goya, Lenoir-Rhyne
Freshman of the Year: Till Neumann, Newberry
Coach of the Year: Gary Hamill, Wingate
Fair Play Award: Anderson

Today's Events

Soccer (W) vs. UNC PEMBROKE, 5:00VideoStats
Soccer (M) @ Mars HIll, 7:00VideoStats


«December 2017»
December 1

Swimming @ Yellow Jacket Invite (Day 1)

December 2

Swimming @ Yellow Jacket Invite (Day 2) W-2nd;M-4th

Track/Field @ JDL College Kickoff Classic

Basketball (W) @ Lincoln Memorial 43-60

Basketball (M) @ Lincoln Memorial 58-103

December 9

Basketball (W) vs. TUSCULUM 70-58

Basketball (M) vs. TUSCULUM 73-87

December 11

Basketball (W) vs. JC SMITH 51-52

December 12

Basketball (M) vs. ST. AUGUSTINE'S 76-73

December 16

Basketball (W) vs. ANDERSON 63-46

Basketball (M) vs. ANDERSON 67-76

December 17

Swimming MEN vs. QUEENS 58-133

Swimming WOMEN vs. QUEENS 69-120

December 19

Basketball (M) vs. WINGATE 77-85

Basketball (W) vs. WINGATE 60-47

December 30

Basketball (W) @ Virginia Union 58-88


Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Basketball (W) Team Photo