Cross Country

Three run to All-SAC honors at SAC Cross Country Championships

WINGATE, NC Ė The Mars Hill College cross country teams swept the team titles and won five of the six individual awards at the Food Lion South Atlantic Conference Cross Country Championships held on Saturday morning at the Wingate University cross country facility. Catawba finished third in the menís race, while the women placed sixth. Catawba also placed three runners on the all-conference teams. Ryan Willis (Jonesboro, GA) placed second (26:27) to earn first team honors for the men, while Brad Heron (Williamsville, NY) earned second team honors with a 13th place finish (27:19). Freshman Rori Godsey (Washington, SC) earned first team honors on the womenís side with a seventh place finish (19:54). Individually, course records fell in both the women's race and the men's race. In the women's 5K race, Tusculum junior Amanda Musick won the event with a course-record time of 19:15. The former record was 19:18 (Amanda Cook, Lees-McRae, 2001). Musick was the only non-Mars Hill individual award winner. In the men's 8K race, Mars Hill sophomore Craig Eckstein shattered his own course record by more than one minute with a time of 25:35. Earlier this fall, Eckstein won the Wingate University Cross Country Invitational with a then-record time of 26:55. Prior to this season, the course record (27:11) belonged to current Mars Hill assistant coach (and former Lion standout) Brock Bailey. Musick and Eckstein earn SAC Runner of the Year honors with their victories. The SAC Freshman of the Year on the women's side is Mars Hill's Kate Prichard, who finished second with a time of 19:18. The SAC Freshman of the Year for the men is Mars Hill's Jon Stoehr. The Wisconsin native completed today's event in 26:50, good enough for fifth place. The Lions claimed five of the top 12 spots to win their seventh straight men's team title with 35 points. Lenoir-Rhyne College finished second with 47 points, followed by Catawba College with 83. The Mars Hill women placed five runners in the top 14 to claim the SAC crown with 39 points. The Lions have won six of the last seven Food Lion SAC women's cross country titles. Carson-Newman College was second with 80 points. Tusculum took third place with 90 points. Host Wingate University was a close fourth place with 91 points. MENíS RACE 1. Mars Hill 35, 2. Lenoir-Rhyne 47, 3. CATAWBA 83, 4. Carson-Newman 86, 5. Wingate 114, 6. Tusculum 176, 7. Presbyterian 194, 8. Newberry 215. Men's Runner of the Year: Craig Eckstein, Mars Hill Men's Freshman of the Year: Jon Stoehr, Mars Hill Men's Coach of the Year: Mike Owens, Mars Hill All-SAC Teams First Team Craig Eckstein, Mars Hill RYAN WILLIS, CATAWBA Nolan Winters, Lenoir-Rhyne Jose Zavala, Lenoir-Rhyne Jon Stoehr, Mars Hill James Thompson, Mars Hill Eric Malkowski, Carson-Newman Second Team Brad Topper, Wingate Adam Stewart, Lenoir-Rhyne Ross Lewis, Tusculum Corey Simons, Mars Hill Bobby Beeson, Mars Hill BRAD HERON, CATAWBA John Miklas, Carson-Newman Catawba Individuals 2. Ryan Willis, 26:27 13. Brad Heron, 27:19 17. Jesse Howes, 27:30 19. Erik Peterson, 27:50 32. Steven Stamper, 28:56 37. Nate Dozier, 29:24 47. Trey McNamee, 30:29 48. Chris Slaughter, 30:36 WOMENíS RACE 1. Mars Hill 39, 2. Carson-Newman 80, 3, Tusculum 90, 4. Wingate 91, 5. Presbyterian 115, 6. CATAWBA 117, 7. Lenoir-Rhyne 151, 8. Newberry, DNS. Women's Runner of the Year: Amanda Musick, Tusculum Women's Freshman of the Year: Kate Prichard, Mars Hill Women's Coach of the Year: Mike Owens, Mars Hill All-SAC Teams First Team Amanda Musick, Tusculum Kate Prichard, Mars Hill Natalie Creech, Wingate Margaux Cowan-Banker, Carson-Newman Rachel Retallick, Mars Hill Greta Statler, Mars Hill RORI GODSEY, CATAWBA Second Team Jennifer Sauceman, Carson-Newman Tanith Forrester, Presbyterian Lindsay Boldt, Wingate Tina Schowiak, Carson-Newman Tabatha Lee, Mars Hill Whitney Heavner, Lenoir-Rhyne Kristen Shipley, Mars Hill Catawba Individuals 7. Rori Godsey, 19:54 24. Carol Marquis, 21:31 26. Rebecca DeFeo, 21:37 27. Twanita Jones, 21:39 34. Shannon Dente, 22:47 35. Caitlin Koukal, 22:53 41. Faith Clapp, 24:57 #######

Today's Events

No events scheduled until August 24


«July 2018»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Cross Country Team Photo