Lacrosse (M)

Four Take Home SAC Men's Lacrosse Post Season Honors


ROCK HILL, S.C. -- Four Catawba men’s lacrosse players earned postseason honors from the South Atlantic Conference. Picking up second team All-SAC honors was attack Dalton Cook and middie Joe Barber. Attack Cole Fanzo and defender Julian Maxie grabbed honorable mention honors. Lenoir-Rhyne swept the top awards as Collin Lett was Player of the Year, Myles Moffit the Freshman of the Year and Greg Paradine the Coach of the Year.

Cook, a senior, led Catawba in points with 50 on the season, scoring 32 goals with 18 assists. He added 24 ground balls and eight caused turnovers. Barber, a junior, shared team high assist honors with Cook at 18, while notching 27 goals. He had 38 ground balls and 11 caused turnovers.

Fanzo, a junior, led the team with 34 goals and chipped in four assists. He grabbed 17 ground balls and had three caused turnovers. Maxie started all 15 games in defense, causing 11 turnovers and picking up 14 ground balls.

Lett anchors a Bear defense that ranks second in the conference in scoring defense, allowing just over nine goals per game. He leads the conference and is tenth in the NCAA Division II in caused turnovers, averaging 2.06 per game. Moffat has scored 28 goals and dished out 24 assists for 54 points during his freshman campaign. Paradine earns his third career coach of the year honor after guiding his squad to a 15-1 record overall and an undefeated mark of 8-0 in League play. 

2018 SAC Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference
First Team
A – Joe Buduo, Lenoir-Rhyne
A – Adam Golia, Lincoln Memorial
A – Ben Corrigan, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Eric Dickinson, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Billy Kopsky, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Conor Gronbach, Wingate
D – Chris Gazzio, Wingate
D – Jacob, O’Connor, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Tyler Bane, Lenoir-Rhyne
LP – Collin Lett, Lenoir-Rhyne
Spec. – Shane Gottberg, Lenoir-Rhyne
GK – Ryan Crompton, Lenoir-Rhyne
Second Team
A – Dalton Cook, Catawba
A – Kyle Arcuri, Lincoln Memorial
A – Jeremy Sullivan, Wingate
MF – Robert Tucker, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Alex Llerandi, Wingate
MF – Joe Barber, Catawba
D – Marc James, Wingate
D – Ryan Benck, Lincoln Memorial
D – Josh Hernandez, Lincoln Memorial
LP – Griffin Stechmiller, Queens
Spec. – Drew Flack, Queens
GK – Ryan Kearney, Mars Hill
Honorable Mention
A – Myles Moffat, Lenoir-Rhyne
A – Cole Fanzo, Catawba
A – Dima Ferreira, Mars Hill
MF – Justin Swick, Queens
MF – Seth Grimwood, Wingate
MF – Keegan Bell, Tusculum
D – Nick Rizzieri, Queens
D – Ryon Bellamy, Queens
D – Julian Maxey, Catawba (T)
D – Jake Coleman, Queens (T)
LP – Reese Orman, Wingate
Spec. – Wyatt Weiseman, Wingate
GK – Anthony Valenza, Queens
Player of the Year: Collin Lett, Lenoir-Rhyne
Freshman of the Year: Myles Moffat, Lenoir-Rhyne
Coach of the Year: Greg Paradine, Lenoir-Rhyne

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«November 2018»
November 2

Swimming @ Emory Invite (Day 1)

Soccer (W) vs. Carson-Newman (SAC Tournament - Semifinals) 1-2

Volleyball vs. ANDERSON 0-3

November 3

Swimming @ Emory Invite (Day 2) W-4th;M-4th

Cross Country @ SAC Championships M-5th;W-5th

Football @ Newberry 10-40

Volleyball vs. NEWBERRY 3-0

November 6

Volleyball @ Wingate (SAC Tournament - 1st Round) 0-3

November 9

Basketball (M) vs. FRANCIS MARION 115-82

Basketball (W) @ North Greenville 62-67

November 10

Football @ Lenoir-Rhyne 21-63

Basketball (W) vs. Erskine 80-86

Basketball (M) vs. UNC PEMBROKE 75-80

Soccer (W) @ Carson-Newman (NCAA II Southeast Regional) 0-3

November 14

Basketball (M) @ Young Harris 85-67

November 16

Swimming @ Fall Frenzy (Day 1)

November 17

Swimming @ Fall Frenzy (Day 2)

Cross Country @ NCAA II Southeast Regional W-8th; M-10th

Football vs. UNC PEMBROKE 30-23

Basketball (W) vs. FAYETTEVILLE ST. 76-56

Basketball (M) vs. ELIZABETH CITY ST. 86-65

November 18

Swimming @ Fall Frenzy (Day 3) W-9th;M-9th

November 19

Basketball (W) @ Lees-McRae 66-59

November 26

Basketball (M) vs. BLUEFIELD ST. 7 p.m.

November 28

Basketball (W) @ Newberry 6 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ Newberry 8 p.m.

November 30

Swimming vs. CHOWAN

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Swimming Team Photo