Albers Makes 500 Free Final and Miranda Sets School Record at BMC Championships


CHARLOTTE, N.C. -- Catawba set a school record and put a swimmer into an A final on day two of the 2019 Bluegrass Mountain Conference Championships on Wednesday night at the Mecklenburg Aquatic Center. The Championships will run through Saturday.

Catawba’s Joao Miranda set a new record for the men in the 500 free. He won the B final in a time of 4:32.39, trimming just over a second off the previous mark, which was set in 2015 by Theo Zatterstrom.

Carolin Albers just missed a record in earning a spot in the women’s 500 free A final. She was a tenth off in the prelim with a 5:00.97. She took sixth in the final and the second and third best all-time swims for the event. Carolin Bek and Regan Nolan earned spots in the B final. Bek posted the fifth and sixth best all-time times. She won the B final with a 5:04.61. Nolan had a personal best swim of 5:11.82 to finish 15th.

Federico Borrego Higareda made the B final of the men’s 200 IM. He would go 13th with a time of 1:52.91 and had the eighth and ninth best all-time swims. Gatlin Saylors posted a personal best in the B final of the men’s 50 free as he placed 14th with a time of 21.01. Claire Featherstone made the women’s 50 free B final and clocked a 24.13 which was 13th and just a quarter second off her record time.

In the lone relay of the session, the men’s 400 medley relay team of Saylors, Higareda, Lukas Helbing and Kyle Holmes finished fourth. The time of 3:25.07 was the eighth best in school history. The women had the fourth best all-time swim with a 3:59.98. The team of Featherstone, Chloe Taylor, Oryan Malul and Bek placed sixth.

Thursday Results

500 free
A Final
6. Carolin Albers, 5:01.40 D2B
B Final
9. Carolin Bek, 5:04.61 D2B PB
15. Regan Nolan, 5:11.82 PB
3. Carolin Albers, 5:00.97 D2B
9. Carolin Bek, 5:04.98 D2B
12. Regan Nolan, 5:12.42
23. Breanna Miller, 5:27.13

B Final
9. Joao Miranda, 4:32.39 D2B SR
9. Joao Miranda, 4:36.63
23. Michael King, 4:50.75

200 IM
18. Taylor Fair, 2:11.63 SB
21. Paula Ernst, 2:12.61 PB
30. Amalia Fontes, 2:19.04
31, Chloe Taylor, 2:19.41 PB

B Final
13. Federico Borrego Higareda, 1:52.91
13. Federico Borrego Higareda, 1:52.67
20. Kyle Holmes, 1:56.72

50 free
B Final
13. Claire Featherstone, 24.13 SB
16. Claire Featherstone, 24.36
31. Natalie Standard, 25.77

B Final
14. Gatlin Saylors, 21.01 PB
13. Gatlin Saylors, 21.13
24. Lukas Helbing, 21:94

400 medley relay
6. 3:59.98 (Claire Featherstone, Chloe Taylor, Oryan Malul, Carolin Bek)

4. 3:25.07 (Gatlin Saylors, Federico Borrego Higareda, Lukas Helbing, Kyle Holmes)

100 fly time trial
Matt Arnold, 53.56

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 5


«June 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Swimming Team Photo