Lacrosse (M)

Championship Eludes Men's Lacrosse With Overtime Loss to Tusculum


BREVARD, N.C. -- Catawba was denied a South Atlantic Conference men’s lacrosse championship in heartbreaking fashion, falling 11-10 in double overtime to Tusculum on Saturday night at Brevard’s Ives-Lemel Field. The Pioneers improve to 7-6 overall and 3-5 in the SAC, while the 16th-ranked Catawba Indians fall to 9-5 and 6-2. The game was moved to Brevard because of wet field conditions at Tusculum.

In the second overtime, Catawba won the face-off, but a quick turnover led the game-winning goal. The winner came just 11 seconds into the period as Liam Macdonald converted on a pass from Jordan Daniel.

Catawba had tied the game late in the fourth quarter after failing to hold a 9-7 lead after three quarters. Tusculum put home three goal to go up 10-9 with 4:17 to go. Tony Bellotte pulled the Indians even with 2:53 remaining in regulation.

Trevor Bellotte led Catawba with three goals and an assist. He scored at the 8:54 mark of the third quarter to give the Indians the 9-7 edge, but Catawba was held scoreless over the next 21 minutes as the Pioneers pulled ahead.

Joe Barber and Payton Leonard both scored two goals. Leonard also caused three turnovers and had five ground balls. Shawn Casebolt won 20 of 25 face-offs and scooped up 14 ground balls. Kevin Geiger recorded 10 saves.

Macdonald had two goals and two assists for Tusculum. Keegan Bell and Sean Dunn each scored twice for the Pioneers. Dunn had an assist, while Daniel had two assists and one goal. Ross Geiger posted nine saves for Tusculum.

Catawba will be the #2 seed for the SAC Tournament and will earn a bye into the semifinals. The Indians will face the winner of #3 seed Queens and #6 seed Tusculum on Friday at Wingate at 7 p.m.

Box Score

Today's Events

Basketball (M) @ Virginia Union, 84-69 WVideoStats


«November 2019»
November 1

Volleyball vs. MARS HILL 1-3

November 2

Football @ Tusculum 14-32

Volleyball vs. LENOIR-RHYNE 0-3

Soccer (W) @ Anderson 1-0

Soccer (M) @ Anderson 0-4

November 5

Volleyball @ Chowan 3-1

November 6

Soccer (W) @ Wingate 0-0

Soccer (M) @ Wingate 0-7

November 8

Basketball (M) v. UNC Pembroke 90-95

Basketball (W) v. North Greenville 74-42

Volleyball @ Anderson 1-3

November 9

Cross Country @ NCAA II Regional (Wingate Univ.) M-6th;W-9th

Football @ UVA-Wise 14-21

Swimming WOMEN vs. BARTON 141-118

Swimming MEN vs. BARTON 124-131

Volleyball @ Newberry 3-2

Soccer (W) vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL (SAC Tournament - 1st Round) 1-3

Basketball (M) @ Francis Marion 86-72

Basketball (W) v. Erskine 77-58

November 13

Basketball (M) @ Virginia Union 84-69

November 15

Volleyball vs. LINCOLN MEMORIAL 7 p.m.

November 16

Football vs. LENOIR-RHYNE noon

Basketball (W) @ Fayetteville State 2 p.m.

Volleyball vs. CARSON-NEWMAN 6 p.m.

November 19

Basketball (M) @ Augusta 7 p.m.

November 23

Cross Country @ NCAA II Championships (Oaks Golf Complex)

Basketball (W) vs. LEES-McRAE 2 p.m.

Basketball (M) vs. YOUNG HARRIS 4 p.m.

November 26

Basketball (W) vs. NEWBERRY 5:30 p.m.

Basketball (M) vs. NEWBERRY 7:30 p.m.

November 30

Basketball (W) @ Tusculum 2 p.m.

Basketball (M) @ Tusculum 4 p.m.

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Basketball (M) Team Photo