Lacrosse (M)

Bourque Named SAC Men's Lacrosse Coach of Year


ROCK HILL, S.C. ( -- Catawba placed five players on the 2019 South Atlantic Conference Men's Lacrosse All-Conference teams that also included the selection on Peter Bourque as Coach of the Year. Joe Barber and Kevin Geiger earned first team All-SAC honors, while Cole Fanzo and Payton Leonard were second team picks. Keenan D’Arcy was tabbed as honorable mention in the awards announced on Wednesday by the league office.

Bourque claims his first SAC Coach of the Year honor after being named the Deep South Conference Coach of the Year in 2000 and 2003. Catawba finished second in the league and returned to the USILA national rankings for the first time since 2012. The team was ranked as high as No. 14 in Division II and was named in two top-20 polls for the past five weeks.

Barber, who was a second team pick last year, earned first team honors as a middie in 2019. The senior leads the team this year in total points (47) and assists (47). Barber has also added 19 goals, four of which have been game winners. His 36 ground balls stand third on the team and he has caused 13 turnovers.

Geiger, a junior goalie, earns All-SAC honors for the first time. The first team selection has posted a 10.40 goals against average on the season, while stopping just over 55% of shots on goal. He has recorded 170 saves on the season in just short of 800 minutes in the pipes.

Fanzo, a senior attack, has scored a team-best 41 goals on the season. He stands just behind Barber with 46 total points as he has helped on five goals. Fanzo has picked up 16 ground balls on the year.

Leonard, a freshman defender, was the SAC statistical champion with a team-high 35 caused turnovers. He stands second with 64 ground balls and has chipped in on offense with five goals and an assist.

D’Arcy, a senior defender, was an honorable mention selection. He had 19 caused turnovers and scooped up 24 ground balls.

Wingate’s Alex Llerandi was selected as the Player of the Year, netting 35 goals and assisting on nine to total the second-most points on the team with 44. Newberry’s Brady Kearnan was named the Freshman of the Year, scoring 37 goals, while assisting on a team-high 29.

The 2019 South Atlantic Conference Men's Lacrosse Championship semifinals will take place on the campus of Wingate University on April 26. Catawba will face Queens at 7 p.m. with the winner advancing to the finals on April 28. Live video and results for the entire tournament can be found online at

2019 SAC Men’s Lacrosse All-Conference
All-SAC First Team
A – Joe Buduo, Lenoir-Rhyne
A – Keegan Bell, Tusculum
A – Dylan Mansur, Newberry
MF – Eric Dickinson, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Alex Llerandi, Wingate
MF – Joe Barber, Catawba
D – RJ Neal, Wingate
D – Tyler Bane, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – James Houston, Wingate
LP – Griffin Stechmiller, Queens
Spec. – Wyatt Weiseman, Wingate
GK – Kevin Geiger, Catawba
All-SAC Second Team
A – Bobby Padden, Wingate
A – Kealan Pilon, Queens
A – Cole Fanzo, Catawba
MF – Conor Gronbach, Wingate
MF – Ethan Irizarry, Coker
MF – Robert Tucker, Lincoln Memorial
D – Payton Leonard, Catawba
D – Ryon Bellamy, Queens
D – Nick Rizzieri, Queens
LP – Reese Orman, Wingate
Spec. – Sean Moran, Wingate
GK – Noah Johnson, Lenoir-Rhyne
Honorable Mentions
A – Ian Cook, Lincoln Memorial
A – Stone Boone, Newberry
A – Ryan Ormerod, Wingate
MF – Kevin Barry, Queens
MF – Zac Carrigan, Mars Hill
MF – David Byrne, Queens
D – Jake Coleman, Queens
D – Quinn McKitrick, Tusculum
D – Keenan D'Arcy, Catawba
LP – Connor Stanley, Lenoir-Rhyne
Spec. – Drew Flack, Queens
GK – Alex Cordero, Wingate
Player of the Year: Alex Llerandi, Wingate
Freshman of the Year: Brady Kearnan, Newberry
Coach of the Year: Peter Bourque, Catawba

Today's Events

No events scheduled until September 3


«June 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Lacrosse (M) Team Photo