Soccer (M)

Bielby Earns Honorable Mention All-SAC Men's Soccer Honors


ROCK HILL, S.C. ( -- Catawba sophomore midfielder Ben Bielby was the lone Catawba Indian to earn post-season All-South Atlantic Conference Men’s Soccer honors as he was named honorable mention as announced by the league office on Wednesday. Wingate forward Paul Ngongo was voted the Offensive Player of the Year, as well as Freshman of the Year, while Carson-Newman defender Kensho Yoshikoshi was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Carson-Newman’s Stephen Lyons was voted as the Coach of the Year.

Bielby started 14 matches for the Indians this season. He scored a pair of goals and added one assist on the year. Both of his goals came in a win over Shaw, while assisting on a tally in a win over North Greenville.
Ngongo, from Copenhagen, Denmark, becomes the first player in SAC history to win both Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year in the same year. He leads the league in goals with 17 and points with 37. Yoshikoshi, a senior from Tokyo, Japan, anchored the Eagle defense that allowed just 1.11 goals per game, while collecting five clean sheets. He accounted for three goals and an assist. Lyons led the Eagles to a 10-4-3 overall record, going 6-1-3 in the SAC, earning the program’s ninth regular season championship.
2019 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Soccer All-Conference
First Team
F – Paul Ngongo, Wingate
F – Henrique Devens, Tusculum
F – Ibrahim Nadir, Newberry
F – Jacques Fokam-Sandeu, Coker
MF – Christian Provenzano, Coker
MF – Elliot Cutts, Wingate
MF – David Alvarez, Queens
MF – Mikkel Fahlen Bruun, Wingate
D – Michael Hornsby, Queens
D – Kensho Yoshikoshi, Carson-Newman
D – Owen Marshall, Wingate
D – Alan Brandao, Lincoln Memorial
GK – Bram Kaarsgaren, Carson-Newman
Second Team
F – Victor Cascon, Lenoir-Rhyne
F – Thaylan Silva, Carson-Newman
F – Harry Ward, Anderson
F – Caio Brandao, Queens
MF – Keegan Burton, Queens
MF – Danilo Seglio, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Will Sainsbury-Logan, Carson-Newman
MF – Nic Carsh, Carson-Newman
D – Georgios Charkoutsakis, Tusculum
D – Ryan Tyrer, Anderson
D – Sam Ottley, Newberry
D – Robi Obrstar, Coker
GK – Jens Bergendorff, Wingate
Honorable Mention
F – Goncalo Garcia, Lenoir-Rhyne
F – Tobias Solem Karlsen, Carson-Newman
F – Sofian Maghouz, Carson-Newman
F – Alexander Cox-Ashwood, Anderson
MF – Boris Basara, Queens
MF – Fabian Proesch, Tusculum
MF – Hunter Stroble, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Ben Bielby, Catawba
D – Monoel Dos passos, Queens
D – Clement Dagorn, Tusculum
D – Jeppe Christensen, Mars Hill
D – Dani Gongora, Tusculum
GK – Sebastian Kalk, Queens
Offensive Player of the Year - Paul Ngongo, Wingate
Defensive Player of the Year - Kensho Yoshikoshi, Carson-Newman
Freshman of the Year - Paul Ngongo, Wingate
Coach of the Year - Stephen Lyons, Carson-Newman
Fair Play Award - Lincoln Memorial

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«September 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (M) Team Photo