Soccer (W)

Beck Named SAC Women's Soccer Defensive Player of the Year


ROCK HILL, S.C. ( -- Catawba sophomore Katie Beck was named the 2019 South Atlantic Conference Women’s Soccer Defensive Player of the Year as announced by the league on Wednesday. She was joined on the All-SAC first team by junior midfielder Jovana Sanchez. Earning second team honors were senior forward Shelby Vasich and senior goalkeeper Shelby Thompson.

Beck, from Clermont, Fla., anchors a Catawba Indian defense that has surrendered just 15 goals during the season and with a goals against average of 0.85. In addition to her defensive prowess, Beck has netted four goals, including three in conference play with one game-winning goal. Beck was also named SAC AstroTurf Defensive Player of the Week during the season.

Sanchez leads Catawba with seven assists on the season. She has also put home three goals, including the game-winner in a win over Mars Hill.  Two of Vasich’s four goals went for winners, coming against Lenoir-Rhyne and Tusculum. Thompson has a 1.00 goal against average with five shutouts over 14 starts. She saved 81% of the shots against her.

Lenoir-Rhyne forward Aqsa Mushtaq was voted as the Offensive Player of the Year, while Queens forward Nia Gaither was selected as the Freshman of the Year. Lenoir-Rhyne head coach Garry Higgins was voted as the Coach of the Year.
2019 South Atlantic Conference Women’s Soccer All-Conference
First Team
F – Aqsa Mushtaq, Lenoir-Rhyne
F – Jessica Cravero, Lincoln Memorial
F – Nia Gaither, Queens
F – Hannah Van Eerden, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Jovana Sanchez, Catawba
MF – McKenna DeLong, Wingate
MF – Maria Hernandez, Lincoln Memorial
MF – Neve Duston, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Christina Shimshock, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Katie Beck, Catawba
D – Ermelinda Pantaleao, Lincoln Memorial
D – Kristen DeBiase, Wingate
GK – Abbey Frail, Wingate
Second Team
F – Daphne Heyaime, Newberry
F – Emilee Futrell, Carson-Newman
F – Shelby Vasich, Catawba
F – Sanne Martinsen, Mars Hill
MF – Abigael McGarel, Lenoir-Rhyne
MF – Lulu Phan, Queens
MF – Kristina Markfort, Carson-Newman
MF – Jess Lafrancis, Wingate
D – Aleisha Cruwys, Lenoir-Rhyne
D – Chandler Hendrix, Wingate
D – Beatrice Gards, Carson-Newman
D – Jente Kuper, Carson-Newman
GK – Shelby Thompson, Catawba
Honorable Mention
F – Erin Cepeda, Anderson
MF – Karen Juarez, Queens
MF – Jacqueline Aldrete, Newberry
MF – Addie Henry, Carson-Newman
MF – Emma rose Stockton, Queens
D – Kenzie Ellenburg, Tusculum
D – Thenia Zervas, Lincoln Memorial
D – Emma Harms, Newberry
GK – Charlotte Warner, Lenoir-Rhyne
Offensive Player of the Year - Aqsa Mushtaq, Lenoir-Rhyne
Defensive Player of the Year - Katie Beck, Catawba
Freshman of the Year - Nia Gaither, Queens
Coach of the Year - Gary Higgins, Lenoir-Rhyne
Fair Play Award - Lincoln Memorial

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«October 2020»
October 17

Soccer (W) Team Scrimmage 7 p.m.


Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Soccer (W) Team Photo