Basketball (M)

Cooper and Haskett Get All-SAC Nods in Men's Basketball


ROCK HILL, S.C. ( -- Catawba seniors Devin Cooper and Marcell Haskett have earned spots on the All-South Atlantic Conference Men’s Basketball Teams. Cooper took home first team All-SAC honors, while Haskett was an honorable mention selection. Lincoln Memorial guard Courvoisier McCauley was voted the Player of the Year, while teammate Cameron Henry was the Defensive Player of the Year. Anderson’s Crosby James II was voted the SAC Freshman of the Year with LMU’s Josh Schertz tabbed as the Coach of the Year. The conference announced the awards on Thursday.
Cooper is averaging just over 18 points a game this season and leads the team in both assists (119) and steals (43). He scored his career-high of 37 earlier this year vs. Lenoir-Rhyne. Cooper has hit on 56 three-pointers and is shooting 83% at the line.

Haskett is scoring a team-best 18.5 points a game and is coming off a career-high 38 points in the opening game of the SAC Tournament. He leads the team with 77 three-pointers and is second in both assists (77) and steals (40).

McCauley, a sophomore, ranks second in the SAC in points per game and field goal percentage, averaging 20.5 points per game, while shooting 50.8 percent from the floor. He also averages 6.1 rebounds and 2.5 assists and 1.2 assists per game. Henry, a sophomore guard, is one of the top defenders in the SAC, leading the league in defensive rebounds with 7.18 per game. He is second in the conference in total rebounds, averaging 8.2 rebounds per game, and he leads the SAC in steals per game at 2.2.

James, a guard, helped lead Anderson to a No. 5 seed in the SAC Pilot Flying J Men’s Basketball Championship while averaging 12.8 points and 2.3 rebounds per game. He scored in double figures in 15 games this season, including scoring a career-high 27 points twice. Schertz led the Railsplitters to their eighth SAC Regular Season title in the last 10 years this season, while compiling a record of 30-1 overall.

2019-20 South Atlantic Conference Men’s Basketball All-Conference Teams and Award Winners
First Team
Courvoisier McCauley, Lincoln Memorial
Daniel Carr, Queens
Devin Whitfield, Lincoln Memorial
Devin Cooper, Catawba
Ja’Shawn Brooks, Mars Hill
R.J. Gunn, Lenoir-Rhyne
Second Team
Quin Nottingham, Anderson
Shawn Benard, Anderson
Angelo Sales Jr., Newberry
Cameron Henry, Lincoln Memorial
Cameron Whiteside, UVa-Wise
Anthony Brown, Lincoln Memorial
Honorable Mention
Marcell Haskett, Catawba
Jarren Cottingham, Wingate
Darius Simmons, Lenoir-Rhyne
Jamari Smith, Queens
Trenton Gibson, Tusculum
Van Turner Jr., Queens
Crosby James II, Anderson
Gavin Rains, Queens
Cooper Fowler, Lenoir-Rhyne
Zim Field, Lenoir-Rhyne
Joshua Scott, Tusculum
Player of the Year: Courvoisier McCauley, Lincoln Memorial
Freshman of the Year: Crosby James II, Anderson
Defensive Player of the Year: Cameron Henry, Lincoln Memorial
Coach of the Year: Josh Schertz, Lincoln Memorial

Today's Events

No events are scheduled today


«October 2020»

Mouse over the red calendar dates to display events on those days. Click to open the full-size calendar.


Basketball (M) Team Photo